We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Located in walking distance of the city is the best part of staying here. Free WiFi large dining area, large common area. Friendly helpful staff. Very busy during our two day visit. Seeing Kilkenny is a definite, great city.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Vera O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

From the outside this hostel looks old and ran down and in the hallways and common room this theme continues. We stayed as a group of 5 friends in a 6 bed dorm. I have to say the room was nice, freshly painted and very clean. The bathrooms and shower facilities were also kept immaculately clean. The kitchen is good well equipped & spotless. The location of this hostel is also very good, walking distance to everything. My main issue with this hostel is that the rooms were very cold, the duvets are thin so make sure your bring something warm to wrap up in or else you will freeze during the night. Also the Wifi does not work at all no matter what part of the building you are in. Check out time is 10am in the morning. The staff do seem quite friendly and helpful. The price is fine, fairly average for a hostel of that standard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YelloSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was a beautiful and cozy place to stay in the heart of the wonderful city of Kilkenny!!!Staff was kind and helpful and the rooms were very clean.The building was a traditional georgian one.the hostel was very close to the castke,the cathedral and all the shops and pubs...We had a small problem with the hot water in the showers.Wi fi was a problem too,but who needs internet when you are in Kilkenny!!!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you're looking for a party hostel, Kilkenny Tourist Hostel is not for you! (At least when I stayed there it wasn't.) This hostel was homely, warm, comfortable and impeccably clean. The kitchen is spotless and the common room has a nice fireplace that's going every night. The only downside is being located 20mins from the train station, but it's a beautiful and scenic walk with no hills, so that wasn't much of a bother. This hostel was located close to everything else central which made for a quiet, slow paced and comfortable stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank 221,197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We got a family room with bathrooms nearby. Clean, friendly, well-run. And a real bargin. Cheap parking nearby. Comfortable and spacious lounge, kitchen and dining areas. And they did our laundry too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Four of our family stayed two nights in the four bed room. Another stayed in an 8 bed women's room. A lovely peaceful old Georgian terraced building. Minimally changed which means the character is preserved. A find. All the hotels were booked as it was opening weekend of the excellent Kilkenny Arts Festival, so we found ourselves here by chance, and were glad we did.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back. They were very quiet despite the fact that there was street noise to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codladh-samh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This Hostel is one of the cutest, I've ever been ! It's very very tidy and clean, the rooms are lovely ! You get information about everything, and it's situated at the opposite of lot's of great pubs. I can really recommend this Hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
795 reviews
1.6 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
0.3 mi away
Lanigans Hostel
Lanigans Hostel
#13 of 24 in Kilkenny
138 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Address: 35 Parliament Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range: $23 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel is the best located Hostel in Kilkenny with great low prices, the friendliest staff and lots of guests from all over the world to socialise with. There's a mix of dormitories and private rooms, free WiFi and computer access, a fully equipped kitchen to cook in, tea and coffee, and lots of information on how to see Kilkenny like a local. Plus there's free lockers, free towels, and a cheap laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Kilkenny Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing