We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Really nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Really great hostel! so clean, cleanest I've been in so far. Kitchen was useful but for the price a corn flake breakfast would have been nice! Really nice staff, Australian lady was really helpful with us getting our bus. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 129 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here on sat May 4th 2013. Great staff, made feel very welcomed. Place was impeccably clean. Usually not a fan of hostels but will definitely book this again and will recommend to anyone that is heading to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avabranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Old building, shared showers and large rooms with airy windows, very very clean and the service of the woman was first rate!! She lit a fire for us in the sitting room, so comfortable, free wifii, excellent location right in the heart of the town. We loved this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 905MelissaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The location was great. A bit of a walk from the train station but still very close to town. Wifi was very hard to connect to and the staff weren't as helpful as at the other hostel around Ireland. Price was about average but i wish i had researched other options first.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was staying in this hostel during the summer. It seemed like an old building but the rooms and shower facilities were modern enough. The only downside about this hostel was that the bathroom and shower wasn't in the same room as the bed. This meant we had to go upstairs to use the facilities. Apart from that it was cheap and the staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Pick one on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's located right next door to the Smithwicks brewery and located close walking distance to the sites and pubs. We lucked out that during slow season, you get a much little bit of a price break and it ended up being a private room in a 4-person dorm for a buddy and myself. The guy running the place was really friendly and helpful for suggesting a good meal and a pub. The beds were comfortable enough. My only minor complaints were that 1 of the 2 showers had the heated water machine working and the wifi wasn't very strong, you had to go to the common room to get a signal...but the common room had a nice comfortable couch and fireplace, but sometimes it's nice to send emails and stuff in your bed...minor details. But good value and I would recommend for a good budget place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enc429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 with my wife and four month old son. This was a GREAT place to stay! This hostel is a converted beautiful old house.

Things we loved:
- Location, location, location. It's on the edge of town (parking lot around the corner), but on the main drag through town (for easy walking). Heck, it's only a few doors down from the Smithwicks Factory (sadly closing very soon)!
- We had a room meant for several people to ourselves, which was a bit pricier (but still quite decent) but meant the baby didn't bother anyone. The room was a very good size with a nice breeze (and decent street view) from the window. Beds were plenty comfortable.
- Very nice staff.
- Great kitchen that we used to make ourselves dinner to save some money.
- The house itself is a beautiful old home.

Issues:
- Bathroom across the hall. To be expected in most hostels, but just something to be aware of.
- If driving, parking is a short walk around the corner. I wouldn't have wanted to drive through the center of town anyway, it was much nicer to walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
0.3 mi away
Lanigans Hostel
Lanigans Hostel
#15 of 23 in Kilkenny
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
65 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Address: 35 Parliament Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range: $30 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel is the best located Hostel in Kilkenny with great low prices, the friendliest staff and lots of guests from all over the world to socialise with. There's a mix of dormitories and private rooms, free WiFi and computer access, a fully equipped kitchen to cook in, tea and coffee, and lots of information on how to see Kilkenny like a local. Plus there's free lockers, free towels, and a cheap laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilkenny Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing