We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I stayed in the 4 star Hibernian Hotel for a week July 13-19 2009. When booking I explained I was taking my mother in law in her 90th year, on a break and specifically requested a quiet room and a lift.
I called the night porter at 02.30 on the first night complaining of a loud droning noise, he was unable to assist. It transpired it was the air conditioning on 24/7 and vented out right beside our rooms (321 & 323). At some distress to my mother in law we moved rooms (225 & 227) on either side of the lift on the 2nd floor. That evening the lift malfunctioned and roared & wailed on its' upward movements. When my mother in law heard this in her "new" room she became distressed and from that moment on our holiday was essentially ruined. On MY suggestion the hotel decommisioned the lift that night between 23.00-08.00.
Next day the lift was serviced but that evening the roaring & wailing began again. When I complained I was told it was serviced & there was nothing wrong. Strangely when going to bed that night the lift was again decommissioned. Thankfully the next day it was repaired properly. Apart from both TV's malfunctioning & the handle on the bathroom door falling off, there appeared to be nothing else mechanically wrong.
Two fried to a cinder eggs for breakfast on day 1 (cooked I was informed by the Head Chef) were returned by my mother in law. When a replacement egg appeared it was in the same sorry state as the first 2. We did not chance dinner.
The front line staff were very kind to us but a meeting with management was very dissapointing. We were given a 15% discount but did not in any way compenstate for the trauma & stress of the entire week. I would never recommend this hotel.
I Coghlan, Dublin

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICoghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 841 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I just returned from 10 days in Ireland, during which we stayed at a variety of small hotels, Inns and B&Bs. The Hibernian Hotel was one of the lowest priced hotels from our trip, but also our favorite. The hotel decor is great - very stylish, and well kept. The main thing that impressed us was the lovely hotel bar - a great place to unwind, check emails, write postcards. Like so many Irish bars and pubs - it had such great woodwork and ambience. Hotel location is great also.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNewnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This was our third hotel (kudos to Josh-son-in-law who found it) Dublin, Cork, Kilkenny back to Dublin. This was the third of four fabulous hotels. Kilkenny was the most walkable town. Lot's of little stores to stop into plus a very nice mini-mall. Don't miss Penney's (not JC Penney). Also there is a $2 Euro shop for incidentals and munchies (like our $ stores). Hotel is in an awkward location, but the parking garage was convenient. Hotel was convenient to the village shopping, though and right near Kilkenny castle (about two blocks away). All Hotel staff were warm and helpful. The room was great except it was the only one that didn't have a hot water pot for tea and coffee for obvious reasons (the restaurant). The Irish breakfast was wonderful and the room it was in was typically Irish & warm & inviting. It was a great hotel to relax in after walking all day. Loved the hotel and loved Kilkenny. If staying on a Sunday, the pub across it has a Sunday pre-fix dinner for 17 euros. John McDonald owns it-The Field-was the best food we had in Ireland and a great experience. When you go on the top level, there is all sorts of Yankee memorphilia to show that John lived (actually in the Bronx near my Jr. HS) in NY years ago. When he heard we were from NY, he kept buying us rounds and we talked until 12 am (midnight) swapping stories. The restaurant personnel personified how wonderful the Irish are to visitors (John has a United Nations for staff-as long as they are good @ what they do). John proved what great storytellers the Irish are. Don't miss this restaurant? Because of this visit, I wished I could stay longer than a day! Great experience. Kudos to trip advisor. Thanks to the reviews, I knew what hotels to book that matched what we were looking for. I do not book any location w/o first checking this website! Thanks and thanks for great hotel experiences!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Unfortunately we only spent one night here. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and it was just wonderful! The room was very comfortable and home like. The bathroom was huge! Breakfast in the morning was great!

The staff here were very helpfu!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottandrew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

have stayed here on a number of nights. Every experience is great, rooms really good and big, comfortable and a really good sleep away from home. Lovely staff and great food, super location "in the middle of it all", but really an oasis. Super managment and really good service

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We spent a night in February, and would liked to have spent a few more. The hotel could not be in a better, or easier to find, location in the city center. The parking garage across the street worked out well. The staff was well informed and very helpful in getting around town. The rooms were warm when we arrived, we just turned the heat down. The hotel has character and charm. It is not a generic hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda55Newport_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We have no complaints about the Hibernian. We stopped overnight on our way from Dublin via Cashel to Kinsale. There is complimentary parking in a garage across the street, which is a bonus, because there is not alot of parking in Kilkenny. We did not hang out in our room much, but it was comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel is perfect. The restaurant/bar area is cozy. The "Left Bank" (Directly across from the Hibernian) had just opened days before and was beautiful, with large glass windows that opened to the street. We dined at Kytlers, (a brief scenic walk) then went to John Carrigans/The Field for one of our most memorable nights in Ireland. Incredible music, excellent bartenders, a great place. (Directly across from the Hibernian). We visited the castle and craft center which was fun. If we visit Ireland again, Kilkenny and the Hibernian will be on our list.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RetireInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,751 reviews
2 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $91 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Kilkenny – Excellent location - show map One of our top picks in Kilkenny. In Kilkenny city centre, the award-winning 4 star boutique, Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers luxury accommodation, Harper's Restaurant and 2 leading bars. In the shadow of Kilkenny Castle, the Hibernian Hotel is in the heart of Kilkenny city. Originally the Hibernian Bank, this 18th Century building overlooks the Parade, popular because it's close to Kilkenny Castle and the Kilkenny Design Centre. Just under 2 hours from Dublin, the Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers you traditional charm in this vibrant city. Guest parking is available in a multi-story car park opposite the Hibernian Hotel, free of charge between 18:00 and 12:00 the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing