We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a great city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We arrived in Kilkenny with no hotel reservation and stopped at the Hibernian. They only had two rooms remaining - one a smoking room and the other had a window with a broken latch. The desk clerk gave us keys to both rooms so we could have a look. The smoking room was quickly removed from the equation as it seemed as though someone was still smoking in the room. The other room was clean, nicely decorated and the window latch, while not real solid, it did hold the window shut. We stayed the night, had a great time in some of the pubs/bars nearby.

Breakfast the next morning was included in the room price and the food was good with plenty of options.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    209
    92
    47
    38
See reviews for
80
325
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Myselft and my colleauges (group of 14) attended our Christmas Party in The Kilkenny Hibernian hotel. From when we first arrived on the Friday morning to when we left the hotel on Saturday the staff of in the hotel could not have done any more for us in every way! The hotel was absolutely spotless. The food was gorgueous.The superb hospitality we received didn’t go unnoticed with my colleagues I would highly recommend this hotel to any groups looking for a great night away!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Group14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

My experience in the Hibernian hotel was fantastic. It accommodated a large crowd with great ease. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful on every front. They went to every length to make sure our weekend ran smoothly- which made all the difference. They catered for every need. The food was good standard, rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was ideal and within walking distance to all of Kilkennys attractions. I would highly recommend this warm and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clodagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Was so impressed with this hotel I would recommend it to anyone. Great location, helpful staff and outstanding food. Staff couldn't do enough for us while we where there and extremely reasonable. It's within walking distance to all of Kilkenny's main attractions. Delighted I stayed there and will one hundred percent go there again. Loved the homely feeling and the warmth of the open fire as you go in. Cant fault it, excellent hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avvydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corporate4, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear awydes,

Thank you so much for your kind comments & delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Its’ always great to hear positive feedback about our staff, I have passed your comments on to them. We love this time of year also with the open fire; next week we will be putting up our Christmas decorations so if you are in Kilkenny in the coming weeks please do call in & enjoy a glass of mulled wine by the Christmas tree in Hibernian Bar. Thank you again for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

John McNena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here recently and had a great time. Rooms were very good, staff very helpful and curtious and a great location in the heart of Kilkenny.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diarmuid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corporate4, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Diamruid M,
Its’ great to hear that you enjoyed your break in our hotel. We are indeed very lucky with our central location being on the doorstep of Kilkenny Castle, the shops of High Street and of course our proximity to the many great bars, restaurants & late night venues in Kilkenny. Hope to see you back in Kilkenny again soon.

Kind regards,

John McNena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here during a driving trip. Location smack bang in the centre of Kilkenny which makes it ideal. Staff curtious, food of a good standard and served on a hot plate which makes a difference. The hotel and room were spotless and the bar was very cosy with its log fire.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing onto Patrick street as it can get a bit noisy at closing time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corporate4, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear dubbhoy,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, it is greatly appreciated. Your kind words will be shared with the all the staff. Glad to hear that our policy of ‘warm food must ALWAYS be served on a warm plate’ is being adhered to. Our hotel is in an ideal location in terms of soaking up the lively atmosphere of Kilkenny’s vibrant nightlife, however weekends are very busy in Kilkenny and as our hotel is located in the heart of the city some of the rooms facing the front of hotel do unfortunately experience street noise which is regrettably outside of our control. The next time you visit us please mention when making your reservation that you would like to stay in a room which is not facing on to the street and we will do our utmost to facilitate this request and allocate you to a room at the back of the hotel. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

John McNena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had a pub lunch at the Hibernian Hotel on Sunday 30th, were only having a sandwich but expected something nice because of the Gastro Pub of the Year flags outside. My friend waited nearly 30 minutes for her sandwich which was only ok, nothing special with a few tiny french fries. I was supposed to get a ham salad sandwich which consisted of a slice of ham between two slices of bread and a little bowl of salad, ham looked like it was out of a pack. On Saturday we had lunch in the Left Bank across the road where my friend had a ham panini with gorgeous thick slices of home cooked ham and I had a lovely seafood chowder. We waited so long in The Hibernian and had to remind the staff that we had ordered that I really felt it was not worth the wait, try the Left Bank which is not any cheaper but much better value for money because the food is far superior.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelotsCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMcNena, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear TravelotsCorkIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for what seems to have been a disappointing experience at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel. Having investigated your comments thoroughly I have established that it was extremely busy in Hibernian Bar on this day however this is no excuse for you having to wait an extended period for your lunch and I can assure you that this is definitely not par for the service and quality standards we adhere to. If you could contact me directly either on 056 777 1888 or gm@kilkennyhibernianhotel.com I would be very happy to discuss your comments above in more detail. I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

John McNena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing