We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brog Maker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brog Maker Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ideal location for a stay in Kilkenny City, close to the center yet far enough away from the traffic and often boorish behavior. Rooms are reasonably priced and breakfast is very good, easy parking, free newspapers and a relaxed atmosphere makes this a recommended place to stay by me!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieFahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    16
    8
    16
See reviews for
5
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

A group of 13 stayed at the Brog Maker Hotel, Kilkenny, on My daughters hen Party,
Booked through an agent ,
On first impression from the outside, it looked ok.
But when you arrived in the reception , different story, old cupboards with the doors hanging off,
The rooms were small with marks on the walls,
A shower that just dribbled water,
The smell from the main entrance to the main dining room, were the men's toilets were, smelled something horrible.

The Beds sheets had brown stains on then, and the throw had nail varnish on then.
one of the beds was sank in the middle.
as we had a uneven number staying with us, she was given a camp bed, but charged for a room.
The walls are like paper, and can hear everyone and everything going on.
Grand for young people who want to have a good time an drink the week end away,

when in bed you could hear buzzing in your pillow

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

A group of us stayed in the Brogmaker a few weeks ago and were very impressed with it overall. We checked in early no problem. Basic rooms but very clean. Tea, coffee and biscuits in all rooms. Went downstairs and had lunch in the restaurant, fab food. Two courses only 9.95. Sauce on chicken mouthwatering. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar full for lunch, a lot of regulars. (always a good sign).Headed into town for a spot of shopping, planned on eating in town that night but after the lunch (huge portions) not a hope. Had drinks in the bar instead and we got finger food around 9.Chicken wings very tasty. No problem getting a late drink. Breakfast served until 11.30 next morning, again plenty of everything. Had a late check out, no extra charge. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cats047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

oh my god what can i say. id had food there previously and thought it was lovely and my parents also dined there and thought it was lovely. but what a disapppointment this time around. whether its under new management or what, i dont know. dad always thought best pint of smithwicks, he handed back the first one and got a guinness instead that was nearly as bad, the lady behind the bar was disgusted with him handing back the smithwicks. but no point drinking slop. we all had main course and dessert, the apple tart you could not eat it was vile. the dinner was layered in butter. you could see the grease all around the plate once you put on gravy. the establishment itself is dull and even gone grubby, needs a good scrub. we were a party of five adults and four children, that will never stand foot in the place again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylass01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I left it late to look for accommodation in Kilkenny and was recommended the brog maker. For the price you will pay to stay at the Brog Maker, its perfect, esp. for a stags or hen. The rooms are a little run down, the odd tile missing from the wall in the bathroom, but what do you expect for this price? Having read some of the bad reviews; if youre away for a weekend with your other half or 4 to 5 star is what you want, dont stay here, if cheap and cheerful is on the menu, this place is ideal.

The staff couldnt be more friendly, the breakfast hits the spot, walking distance to the town and if you prefer a taxi its only a few euro up to the brog maker. Free parking included.

All in all, Id stay here again if its not a couples weekend away

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bren100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A group of 11 stayed here for a hen weekend. We weren't expecting much but what we got was beyond awful. To start with it was disgustingly dirty, like the duvets on the bed had weird brown stains like they hadn't been changed in months, horrific. Pubic hairs in the drawers. Bathrooms reeked of bleach but were filthy, tiles missing from the wall, shower was a slow trickle at best, more weird brown stains around the taps, toilet bowls, shower. Phones didn't work, weren't even attached to the wall by wire. I didn't turn on the tv but I doubt it worked. Windows are single glaze.
We had serious issues over rooms, they said it was the fault of the company we booked with, not theirs, this is still unconfirmed, either way the way they dealt with it was awful. Just looked at me & shrugged their shoulders. Breakfast was unedible, got a teapot that was covered in a heavy layer of dust, looked like it never got a rub of a cloth. Glasses for juice were covered with lipstick stains, orange bits stuck to the glasses. Curtains in the restaurant had some weird brown stains on them, turned my stomach even tryin to drink coffee.

All in all if you are booked here I would advise to cancel it - it's not even worth the hassle. We tried to make the best of a bad situation but that's not what you want for a once in a lifetime occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Driscollll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed her at the weekend as a group and all I can say is filthy. From the bathroom to inside the drawers there was dirt and hair. It's dated which I don't mind. Dirt I do. Even the juice glasses at breakfast had lipstick and bits of oranges stuck to them. Gross. The showers didn't work, you'd have a better wash in the rain. There was hair in the bath on the sink in the toilet... Friendly bar staff and waitresses and the location are the only good things going for this this "hotel"

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brog Maker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brog Maker Hotel

Property: Brog Maker Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Brog Maker Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brog Maker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing