We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The positives were outweighed by the negatives.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #26 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The positives were outweighed by the negatives.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

While well situated for walking about town Celtic House has little else to offer in the way of charm, comfort, or hospitality. The owners demanded our voucher payment the moment we walked in. ( This did not happen at any other B & B we stayed at). We were told that parking in the "compound" was a privelage - even though this is touted in their description as an amenity. Mattresses were uncofortable and the pillows were agreed by all in our group as being best compared to an uncured bag of sacrete.

I will say that breakfast was good, hot, and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elviejo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    29
    12
    13
See reviews for
32
110
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed with Angela and John Byrne at their Bed and Breakfast. It was a great experience. The facilities were very comfortable and clean, the food was delicious and the Brynes are spectacular hosts. We would go there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

After having been in Ireland for one week I can count on three fingers the number of rude people I have encountered, two of them were the onwers of this place.
To be fair, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and there was lots of hot water. The downside is that in addition to the treatment, the place has wooden floors throughout. This means that anyone walking anywhere, or even rolling over in bed, sounds like the running of the bulls. Breakfast also was pretty bad, after a week of homemade breads getting store bought, cold, white bread toast, was a downer.
I am pretty easy going and not much offends me, but the treatment here did. I think the Lonely Planet guides are the best, but they missed the mark here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jess5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

As parents of a young family (6 and 11) u can imagine that away time is far a few in our household , to our dismay accomodation booked online turned out to be nothing short of a dog shed , so with the hunt for new accomodation in mind we decided to trawl around kilkenny for more appropiate location and came across Celtic House B&B . After a brief intro i explained our delema and was delighted to be told that it was available and found John to be of a very pleasing manner . we were politely shown to our room and assure that our car was safely tucked away out the back . We were given our keys to the room and left to our own devices. It was'nt the Hilton but then that's not what we expected , you got what you paid for and we spent very little time there. We got up and had a small but hot breakfast the next morning , i personally would recommend this place to couples , however if there was anything i could change it would have to be the temp of the rooms at night and sound proofing the floors. I hope that this is helpful to anyone who reviews this location.

  • Liked — Freindly reception, and secure parking
  • Disliked — no real dislikes , just noted room temp but was happy overall
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank akiras77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

This place has a great location however the owners are very rude once they have your money they seem to count down to time until u leave

Stayed there in September with my wife for our first time in killkenny and it ruined our trip

Breakfast time was a disaster the owners barely smiled at each other let alone the guesst the food was cold and my wifes cereal was stale

We dont often get away from our 4 kids often and when we do we enjoy an extra hour in bed following breakfast however on our way back up the stairs we asked what time was check out to be told 10.30 we were not told this upon check in

Once we checked out we had to wait 20 mins for the owner to let us out of the car park

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rude owners
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank regulartraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

This B&B is not the place to go if you are a respectable person out with your friends for a get together. we are a small group of ladies aged from 25-29 with respectable jobs all in the public sector, we are well educated and respected people and in this B&B we were treated like louts and trouble makers, this B&B has no carpets,its all wooden floors so be aware that walking in stilettos or any noisy shoes is severely frowned upon by the owners, also, don't avail of their car park as once your car is parked there you wont be allowed to move it until you check out next day at 10.30am!!!!!
we had a great night in Kilkenny but our stay at the Celtic House has made some of our memories bad ones.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — |The un-friendly staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Murty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

I took the advise from "Lonely Planet" that Celtic House would be a good place to stay, that the owner would be helpful and knew the city well. No so much. As I traveled around the country later in the week, I realized just how not so helpful they were. I needed help finding a place for the next night. Angela agreed to make a phone call or two for me, but charged me. She was the only one that did. From that point on, each time I needed to contact lodging for the next night, phone calls were made and there was no charge.

  • Liked — great breakfast
  • Disliked — very tiny room, but much help
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjjsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#11 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#41 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Property: Celtic House B&B
Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing