We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bruce in kilkenny two night stay in perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #25 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bruce in kilkenny two night stay in perfect location”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed for two nights in July highly recommend. Private car park and also very convenient off the main street . Warm and welcoming. We definitley be back, breakfast was lovely. John and Angela excellent hosts. Located a very short walk to nolan park where bruce was and also a very short walk across the river to kilkenny castle and the vibrant downtown area with lots of pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms were perfect off main street so no need to complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    62
    29
    12
    13
See reviews for
32
113
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingfield, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Room had upscale finishes such as oak molding & doors. Enjoyed the only queen bed of our entire stay in Scotland & Ireland. Good breakfast.bwarm & welcoming hosts. Artistic touches in home. We would recommend & stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipersbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hostel is designed in the most random way. It has such a mad taste in design but when you meet the owners you understand. They are lovely people and very accommodating. Felt very welcome and safe. The rooms were just lovely, very clean and beautifully designed! Breakfast was served as promised and it was very tasty. I would recommend for everyone to stay here. Excellent location also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaPLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Angela and John Bryne are excellent hosts. They are located a very short walk across the river to Kilkenny Castle and the vibrant downtown area with loads of restaurants and shops. Excellent breakfast which you can select everything from a full Irish breakfast with white and black pudding, bacon, eggs, potatoes, baked tomato, and white or Irish Farm bread, orange juice, cereals, fruit, or any part. The home has gorgeous Thai Buddhist statues throughout the common areas. Quite a treat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank looski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our overnight stay at the Celtic House was the epitome of Ireland's welcoming and bubbling spirit. John and Angela could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Our room was absolutely spotless, bright, and extremely comfortable.. Angela's creative energy was easily felt through her original artwork on the walls as well as through th e lovely breakfast the next morning. She is also an author and after browsing through her book ("Not Forgotten" , a remarkable true story about her amazing Irish Aunt Kitty and family's triumphs over adversity over several generations), I had to buy a copy. The Celtic House does not appear to be anything extraordinary from the outside; but once inside you will be instantly caught up in its bright, beautiful, open space...and, above all, John's and Angela's Irish warmth and hospitality. A unique place that combines quality with great interest and heart.

Room Tip: ...oops! Mistakenly rated pool and fitness centre, which are nonexistent. Not familiar with other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KBC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We initially had some difficulty finding Celtic House after following the directions provided, to the letter. After getting out of our car and walking, we eventually found it, having missed it at first because the directions had us turning right, when to get to Celtic House we needed to turn left. One problem here was that turning left was not an option in this one-way street. Our welcome was not a warm one, although this seemed to improve the next morning. The B&B is very centrally situated and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was well presented in a tastefully decorated dining room. Should we have wanted to watch TV its location would have made it rather difficult.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had 2 great nights! The Irish breakfast, the room, the facilities, everything was perfect! Defenitly going back there. The hostel is no more than a 5 minute walk from the city centre and it couldn't be cleaner. The room we had was clean, pretty big and with a great view on Kilkenny Castle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 78 in Kilkenny
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#6 of 78 in Kilkenny
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#51 of 78 in Kilkenny
105 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#11 of 78 in Kilkenny
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Property: Celtic House B&B
Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing