We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable...in the best of ways!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #25 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable...in the best of ways!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our overnight stay at the Celtic House was the epitome of Ireland's welcoming and bubbling spirit. John and Angela could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Our room was absolutely spotless, bright, and extremely comfortable.. Angela's creative energy was easily felt through her original artwork on the walls as well as through th e lovely breakfast the next morning. She is also an author and after browsing through her book ("Not Forgotten" , a remarkable true story about her amazing Irish Aunt Kitty and family's triumphs over adversity over several generations), I had to buy a copy. The Celtic House does not appear to be anything extraordinary from the outside; but once inside you will be instantly caught up in its bright, beautiful, open space...and, above all, John's and Angela's Irish warmth and hospitality. A unique place that combines quality with great interest and heart.

Room Tip: ...oops! Mistakenly rated pool and fitness centre, which are nonexistent. Not familiar with other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KBC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    62
    29
    12
    13
See reviews for
32
113
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We initially had some difficulty finding Celtic House after following the directions provided, to the letter. After getting out of our car and walking, we eventually found it, having missed it at first because the directions had us turning right, when to get to Celtic House we needed to turn left. One problem here was that turning left was not an option in this one-way street. Our welcome was not a warm one, although this seemed to improve the next morning. The B&B is very centrally situated and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was well presented in a tastefully decorated dining room. Should we have wanted to watch TV its location would have made it rather difficult.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had 2 great nights! The Irish breakfast, the room, the facilities, everything was perfect! Defenitly going back there. The hostel is no more than a 5 minute walk from the city centre and it couldn't be cleaner. The room we had was clean, pretty big and with a great view on Kilkenny Castle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here at very late notice, brother in law had a birthday in kilkenny and this place was recommended to me by him for its location to the city of kilkenny (which couldn't have been better). I didn't look at any previous reviews for this property and im glad i didn't because they are only misleading. Place was very clean and comfortable and the hosts couldn't have been more helpful and polite. Location is ideal in proximity to the the city only walking distance, breakfast was lovely and plentiful. And all wants are well catered for by John and Angela. Has my seal of approval and I will be recommending it to anyone i know travelling to kilkenny in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seamus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading the Trip Advisor reviews, we took a chance on staying here because it has a terrific location being close to city center. We were pleasantly surprised to stay in a new house that actually had 3 ensuite rooms and a kitchen. Angela was very gracious upon arrival and John came to our aid when we wanted hot water and blow dryers.
We actually wrote down our breakfast choices for Angela and gave them to her before walking to the castle. The next morning breakfast was okay, but obviously, writing down our choices didn't matter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

black and white tile floor and egyptian vases decorate this clean home close to the Kilkenny town center....not what we were expecting when we arrived in Ireland! Bfast was large and plentiful...in addition to the traditional Irish bfast, we also had cereals, fruits, and toast to choose from. Rooms are tiny, but the bathrooms are nice and clean. You are across from a school, so it's neat to see the kids walking to school if you get up in time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xenaht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Had to order breakfast when we walked in, choices being full Irish,continental or vegetarian. Who knows what we want the next morning on checking in? John advised the beds were all new, but the double was something I have in my dogs kennel and the single had two very very old mattresses on top of each other resembling a hammock once you laid on it. The 7 inch 1960's TV on top of the wardrobe didn't work not that it mattered as you couldn't see it laying on the bed anyway.
We walked out but our car was locked in the back yard so we couldn't leave and some robust discussions ensured before we got out of that hell hole!
Follow the reviews and don't stop there!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 78 in Kilkenny
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#6 of 78 in Kilkenny
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#51 of 78 in Kilkenny
105 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#11 of 78 in Kilkenny
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Property: Celtic House B&B
Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing