We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful home conveniently located to downtown and castle”
Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #31 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

black and white tile floor and egyptian vases decorate this clean home close to the Kilkenny town center....not what we were expecting when we arrived in Ireland! Bfast was large and plentiful...in addition to the traditional Irish bfast, we also had cereals, fruits, and toast to choose from. Rooms are tiny, but the bathrooms are nice and clean. You are across from a school, so it's neat to see the kids walking to school if you get up in time.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank xenaht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Celtic House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had to order breakfast when we walked in, choices being full Irish,continental or vegetarian. Who knows what we want the next morning on checking in? John advised the beds were all new, but the double was something I have in my dogs kennel and the single had two very very old mattresses on top of each other resembling a hammock once you laid on it. The 7 inch 1960's TV on top of the wardrobe didn't work not that it mattered as you couldn't see it laying on the bed anyway.
We walked out but our car was locked in the back yard so we couldn't leave and some robust discussions ensured before we got out of that hell hole!
Follow the reviews and don't stop there!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Myself & my husband had the pleasure of staying in this character filled B&B over the June holiday weekend (bonus for us it was a comedy festival weekend).
The place is perfectly positioned and is walking distance of all main touristy spots in the city, there's a smashing restaurant down the road called 'Langton House' well worth a visit.
The rooms are cosy & has modern decor through out, the house has bust's & statues from all over the world from the owners travels a real treat for fellow travellers. Oh and the owner Angela is also a talented painter & writer, one book published and another on the way, you can buy a book from her & have it personally signed too, a nice touch.
The owners also have a son in Australia Perth so it was great to chat about our beautiful country and compare it with scenic Ireland.
Over all I would highly recommend this premises and would book again upon a return visit to Ireland (which I hoping the husband will agree too)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

location is perfect,quiet but very central. There is parking and its very easy to find. Friendly owners and room was very clean. However ...we were asked upon arrival what we would like for breakfast the following morning which I thought odd as I cannot predict how hungry I might be. But shockingly ,we were not asked again in the morning what we would like or how well done etc and a big plate with a little miserly dried out veggie breakfast presented.one tomato and two dried out hash Browns with two eggs. It had been clearly waiting for us to arrive.There was no brown bread, the tomato sauce was long expired.I asked for scrambled eggs instead of runny fried eggs and was told basically tough, `well he has made them now so..' It was the most arrogant customer service ever experienced. After paying the 120 for the room, I asked to fill my water bottle as there was a drinking water dispenser in the dining area but the man kindly insisted he would fill it for me.I was instructed to wait outside and he proceeded to fill it from the kitchen tap which tasted like a swimming pool. thanks. Arrogance about customer service seems to prevail.it's a shame as with a little cop on and a trip to a shop for some good food,it could be a brilliant bnb.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccorcoran17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Worst B&B I've ever stayed in. The hosts were rude, the room tiny, beds uncomfortable, the breakfast mediocre at best. Only good feature was it's proximity to downtown Kilkenny. We took a chance even though there were some poor reviews and now regret it. Don't take a chance! Plenty of other B&B's in Kilkenny where you'll get better treatment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

In the center if it all. Kilkenny castle and all sights are a short walk so you can park your car at the b&b and enjoy the town on foot. Good eating and shopping all around. Very spacious room with a good view of the castle. Helpful and accommodating hosts. Truly a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Celtic House for one night in April 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Angela and John were warm and very cordial. They made us an excellent breakfast with the best bacon during our entire 8 day stay in Ireland. They also provided us with a map of Kilkenny and a dinner recommendation. We loved the comfortable beds, secure parking and sunlit dining room. We were in room # 3, which is a little cramped but pretty. This b&b is in a great location - within easy walking distance of shops, pubs, Kilkenny Castle and the Smithwick's brewery. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avidreaderatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 73 in Kilkenny
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#45 of 73 in Kilkenny
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#14 of 73 in Kilkenny
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $105 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing