We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #25 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Celtic House for one night in April 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Angela and John were warm and very cordial. They made us an excellent breakfast with the best bacon during our entire 8 day stay in Ireland. They also provided us with a map of Kilkenny and a dinner recommendation. We loved the comfortable beds, secure parking and sunlit dining room. We were in room # 3, which is a little cramped but pretty. This b&b is in a great location - within easy walking distance of shops, pubs, Kilkenny Castle and the Smithwick's brewery. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidreaderatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    63
    29
    12
    13
See reviews for
33
113
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I visited for one night. We were greeted by the owner John when we checked in and he asked us what type of breakfast we would like the next morning. This B&B is located on a quite street, just a couple minutes from city center. We walked late at night and felt safe. We had room #1 on the first floor. It was an ensuite room, clean, and had everything we needed. My only complaint is that it was not very spacious. We had to move the chair around so that we can get to the one side of the bed. There is a secure parking area in the back of the house. We parked our car there when we arrived and we had no need to take it back out until we left. The owner manually opens the door securing the parking area so I imagine that you cannot park or take the car out after a certain point. Everything we wanted to see in Kilkenny was within walking distance of the place so there really is no need to keep moving your car once it is parked. When we got up the next morning, we were greeted by the wife, Angela. Within minutes of sitting down at the table, she came over with coffee and orange juice, followed by toast and our Irish breakfast. It was all very good. If Kilkenny is in our future plans, we would love to stay at this place again.

P.S. - We booked through Goireland and paid a small deposit to save the room. The balance was due when we checked out and just so you are prepared, they only accept cash. Credit cards are not accepted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a really weird welcome at the Celtic House Bed & Breakfast, which is near the citycentre of Kilkenny. I rang the doorbell and a woman answered, than I realised that I was observed by a CCTV. I told her that we were searching a room and suddenly the door were opened bei a man. He told us the price and wanted to cash up the money, but we asked to see the room first. He led us to a separate building, the floors were fitted with a CCTV system, it felt a little bit like "Big brother is watching you". Our room was located in the cellar, so there was only little light through the cellar window. But the room had a good size, had a bathroom and both were clean.
The breakfast-room was light and modern furnished. The breakfast was okay, we had Irish Breakfast, Toast, Soda Bread and jam. The hosts were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent b&b with charming hosts. We visited from Canada in August of 2012. Superb location on a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the town centre. Our room was on the top floor of the house and was quite spacious with a fine view. The private secure car park behind the house was most appreciated. Once we parked our vehicle we had no further need of it since everything we wanted to see in Kilkenny was within walking distance of Celtic House. We had the pleasure of meeting our hostess Angela at breakfast. We were quite smitten with her gracious hospitality and we were delighted to purchase a copy of her novel "Not Forgotten." We enjoyed reading Angela's book and have happily shared it with our friends in Canada. We will gladly stay at Celtic House again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dushan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay WI
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Very good BB. We were greeted with a big smile and a map with directions to anything we were looking for in Kilkenny. Private parking, a quiet location that is an easy walk to all points of Kilkenny. Good breakfast and very friendly people- John even sprayed the off our very dirty car window.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RamblingBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've been to this b&b a few times and it has never failed to impress!! From the moment you enter the door, your greeted by John and Angella Byrne with a warm and welcoming smile.

Located a "skip, hop and a jump" from the town center, this b&b is located just far away enough to have a wonderfully peaceful night... yet close enough to enjoy the the restaurants and pubs near by.
There is a very homely feel to the b&b, the rooms are tastefully decorated and most importantly the beds are very comfy. Breakfast is freshly cooked within a few minutes of sitting down in the dining room with a great selection of cerials, toast, yoghurts and juices to be tucking into, whilst waiting.
You can have a wondefull natter with Angella, whom has a wide variety of skills to add to her successful business, which are evident all over the walls with her art work. And to top it off Angella has started publishing her own books, which as my sister will attest to, has been a run away success! as my sister read the whole book in less than a day.

All in all, I can not fault this b&b at all!! John and Angella have even tried helping with our family tree / ancestry searches which has gone far and beyond what you would ever expect strangers to do!!
Undoubtedly, we will be coming back again!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are suitable!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were greeted with a warm welcome and helpful hands. The house was in a great location, only a 5 minute walk to downtown and 2 minutes to pub row. There is a small car park behind the house that is fenced in, so you don't have to worry about your car while you stay. The room was cozy, a bit tight in places, but good. Breakfast was good and served just as you want it. John and Angela were great hosts and so down to earth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaRock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#6 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#11 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Property: Celtic House B&B
Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing