We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #34 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Very nice and friendly B&B, I stayed at this B&B with two other girls and it was lovely, great location and John and Angela were very welcoming and john gave us great tips on where to eat. There was a couple of dogs that did not bark once, it was a very quiet location had a great sleep. Will defo stay there again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I selected Celtic House, a lovely town house for our stay in Kilkenny. It’s located within walking distance to pubs, restaurants and Kilkenny Castle.

We had a wonderful stay and John and Angela graciously welcomed us to their home. Our room was clean and bright. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. The shower was wonderful with lots of hot water and good water pressure. When we booked, only twin beds were available. We wanted to stay here because of the location and we were pleased with the accommodations.

The breakfast room was light and airy. Angela provided a wonderful breakfast which was very good.

At checkout, John offered us a parking space so we could walk into town. He also provided excellent directions to our next destination. We certainly would stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celticangel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed at many B & B's on this vacation but this one was disappointing. Rooms needed a good updating.
Good location. Close to downtown Kilkenny.
Main floor area clean. Service & breakfast good.

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller than other rooms on our trip & very much in need of updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanie12359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had no issues checking in and the accomodations were adequate and clean. The only complaint we had was lack of internet access in our rooms. We had to go outside to get it.

Other than that breakfast was fantastic and we slept soundly in our rooms (we had a double bed!). Everything was very clean! Definitely would recommend to anyone we knew coming to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSportschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

John and Angela are absolutely wonderful hosts. We found them by looking in the Lonely Planet guide to Ireland. It's true that their rooms are very clean. The location is quiet yet within walking distance to main shops. The rooms are small but well appointed and definitely worth the modest price. We will stay there again upon returning to Kilkenny!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juicegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Celtic House is a beautiful B&B place where you can see the Kilkenny City Centre from the room and it is close to the centre including Kilkenny Castle.

The Byrnes welcomed us with open arms a lot of warmth. My father and I all enjoyed looking at Angela's wonderful paintings. I love the brush strokes Angela does.

Like us, the Byrnes also like to travel as they told us about their travels to San Diego for the St. Patricks Day parade and other places around the world.

The Byrnes are very conversational and we both like to talk about our lives.

We both enjoyed your homemade Irish breakfast.

I highly recommend Celtic House B&B (my stamp of approval, two thumbs up) when staying in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christianpbermudez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Located a short walk from the city center with gated parking. Very warm hosts that are very well traveled themselves.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank benjaminwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#9 of 74 in Kilkenny
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breagagh View
Breagagh View
#45 of 74 in Kilkenny
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#7 of 74 in Kilkenny
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $100 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing