We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, to be honest”
Review of Club House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed April 24, 2007

I stayed here on a stag weekend and, while the Club House Hotel was functionally fine, I can't say I'd recommend it for the money we paid. The place just feels a bit decrepit and jaded - I'd expect more the prices we were paying (Euros 70 per person sharing per night).

The late bar was fun and I enjoyed that.

I didn't eat the breakfast but some of the guys reported that it was "horrible", which didn't surprise me, given the vibe of the hotel. But that was the only real complaint as such. If the price were cheaper, the Club House would have been fine for a lads weekend away, as it's functional, reasonably clean and well located.

The staff were fairly impersonal, not rude but just not really interested. I suppose they must get a lot of stags staying there, but a bit more interest from hotel staff is always pleasant. In general, I get the impression that Kilkenny itself is fed up of stags and hens.

In summary, I can't say I'd recommend the Club House.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abc_def062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 363 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2007

We stayed here in January 2007 for a long weekend away. We had heard so much about Kilkenny from friends and we had to experience it for our selves.

We discovered this small family run hotel by accident and it turned out to be the best accident we have ever had. It's location is second to none (close to the castle and the bus stops right outside).

Kilkenny has some great bars, but if there is a band playing at the hotel make sure to have a look (we ended up spending the night drinking buckets of Kilkenny beer!!- had a bit of a sore head the next day though).

We found the staff to be helpfull and they answered all of our many questions. It is a beautifull old hotel with some amazing features, especially the restaurant. This hotel really is a breath of fresh air, it is not trying to be something it is not, it is just a really nice family ran hotel for people who want to experience a true irish welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dermo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

Myself, my husband & my mother all stayed at this hotel in August of 2005. After getting into our room, I realised that what I had seen on the website had been misleading. The photos showcased on the website made the hotel look lovely and warm, and while I thought the size of the room was good, it was shabby at best. I would not consider myself to be terribly fussy & I don't mind decor that is dated as long as the upkeep is evident. The entire look of the hotel was considerably nicer on the website than in person.
I could have dealt with that alone, but then I tried to have a shower on the first morning that we were there. It was ice cold, whereas the night before it had been scalding hot. My husband & I both had to use my mother's shower; thankfully her room was just next to ours.
I will say that the breakfasts were very nice, and also the location of the hotel was good for us. I did not find the front desk staff to be terribly friendly, however, just sort of indifferent.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is seriously overpriced and not good value at all. Go to a B&B or spend the extra money & go to a nicer hotel. We were there for a wedding & the rest of my family members stayed between guesthouses, the Ormonde & the River Court Hotel. Not one of them had any complaints.

Stayed: August 2005
1  Thank MrsOdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Will never never never stay in this hotel again. Hotel room size poor,cleanliness poor,very noisy.Over priced,hotel picture on web misleading,phone was not working in hotel room,no remote control for t.v

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank TipperaryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
221
Reviewed March 12, 2006

Did anybody ever see the movie 'The Shining'? Well theres no need to! Just come to the Clubhouse!!I expected to see the toddler on a tricycle in the hallway! The hotel was musty and old fashioned. I would seriously reccomend 'Pimp my hotel'!!! With no offence intended, I felt like I was at an old folks home.The room, however, was satisfactory, yet the 'double bed' requested appeared to be two single beds pushed together, and when we brought this to the attention of the manager, he was less than helpful. To sum up, I would not reccomend this hotel to anybody, and i strongly regard it as a waste of money.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2005

We stayed here in August 2003 and it was an absolute nightmare. When we arrived into our room there was a stench of smoke. When we tried to have a shower - it didn't work and when we asked for it to be fixed, we were told - 'Could you not just have a bath'!!!!!!!!! We stayed in this room for the first night (no shower) and moved rooms the following morning to the tiniest room i have ever seen in my life (bare in mind I am only 5 feet tall). The bed was so springy it left us both with back aches for the week. The hotel is filthy dirty and ancient - so ancient that it was actually part of the City Bus Tour as the oldest hotel in Kilkenny. And yes - it was - and it hasn't been renovated in my opinion since the 18th century. It was just horrible.

22  Thank Diney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Athy, Co. Kildare
111
Reviewed September 15, 2004

Our experience at this early 18th Century Hotel was marvellous. This is a rare old building which has remained inhabited since the 1700s, and is decorated and furnished in lavish old style. What
a treat to be able to stay there, expecially in such a historic city as Kilkenny.

Unlike modern hotels,(ubiquitous, you could be in any city, they are all so similar),you know you are experiencing a part of Kilkenny's history and unique charm of the old world.

Wonderful food and entertainment, not to mention the kindness of the staff.
Evelyn McFadden

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club House Hotel

Address: 19 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 DX76, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: $72 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Club House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing traditional hospitality with modern day luxuries, The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is a charming family run hotel in the heart of Medieval Kilkenny City. This magnificent 18th Century Kilkenny Hotel maintains a 210 year old traditional of effortless comfort hospitality and efficiency. The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is located in a quiet area on Patrick Street, just around the corner from the famous Kilkenny Castle & Design Centre and less than a minutes walk from shopping, bars, restaurants, nightclubs and attractions making it the ideal place to stay for your visit to Kilkenny. Complimentary Wireless Internet Access is also available in certain areas of the Club House Kilkenny Hotel as well as complementary onsite carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club House Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Club House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing