We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
102
127
92
49
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
127
92
49
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an older hotel night porter medieval city excellent location bed was comfortable food was lovely poached eggs great weekend breakfast was included within easy walking distance one night stay visit kilkenny centre of town bar food hen party b bs clubhouse
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 416 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018

Well if you want a bland polished marble and minimalist hotel like all the others prevalent in Ireland just now avoid the Club House.
This is a real gem full of quirky character and history right in the centre of Kilkenny.
It oozes Authenticity from the slightly worn carpet runners and creaky floor boards to the Victorian Hunting prints,Gilt mirrors and interesting stain glass .
The rooms are clean and comfortable though for the picky the bathrooms are slightly dated.Beds were comfortable and we had a quiet peaceful night despite being in the older part of the hotel adjacent to the main street.
The staff were friendly and ever helpful .
This hotel is exactly the reason why we should restrict Air BNB in city and town centres as we will continue to lose family run gems like this.
I have no idea how they manage to compete but please continue to support these hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ria745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Dear Ria,

Thank you so much for your review of the Club House Hotel we are so grateful of your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Authentic Character of the hotel and I think your review is a very fair and apt description of the hotel. We have renovated all the bedrooms in the hotel this year and please be assured that the remainder of our bathrooms are on the list for the Autumn/winter months this year.

Look forward to welcoming you to the Club House Hotel again sometime in the future, and thank you once again for your review,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

My husband & i stayex for 2 nights for our anniversary.

I love this hotel, it's old, dated but beautiful & quirky if you like that kind of thing.

The Staff were very friendly, helpful, nothing was to much for them.

The food was lovely, there is entertainment & a car park @ the back of hotel.

Just want to thank all the staff for making our time there a memorable one & in particular Liz & Geraldine for their kindness.

We will be back again.

Mary from Dublin

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank airpla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your anniversary was a memorable one. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Club House Hotel in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Club House in July 2018. The hotel is situated along the main road that passes through Kilkenny and is very easy to find if coming from the train or bus stop.

Upon checkin around roughly noon, we were informed our room was not yet ready but the staff would gladly hold our bags until 3 when the room would be clean. The hotel does not have an elevator so be prepared to carry your belongings up 30+ stairs. No problem if you're young or fit but could be an issue if otherwise.

The room was nothing extraordinary but was a decent place to sleep after a long day. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean enough, although a bit small. Understand there is no AC so it can get quite hot as well.

True to the explanation given to us by the front desk, rooms are not cleaned until about 3 so don't expect to leave the room in the morning and come back before that to find them cleaned.

They offered a free breakfast which was nice - Traditional Irish and continental options with free coffee and juice.

The staff were very pleasant, helpful, and nice. If we ever find ourselves in Kilkenny again and do not want to break the bank, we would consider staying here again especially due to the excellent location.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a lower floor to avoid carrying baggage up several stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awuley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

This is certainly a 2 Star Hotel but charging 3-4 star prices. The hotel rooms are clean and bathroom is very good. Staff are very friendly it’s just the hotel itself is dated. Breakfast is average few small things would bring it into a 3 Star. Bottles of water n room would b good.
Rooms are not soundproof you can hear everything

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank CKM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Dear CKM,

Thank you so much for your review of The Club House Hotel we really appreciate your feedback, and we will absolutely take your comments on board,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a Friday night in July. It's an older hotel but cleanliness and service are very good. It does not have a lift so there's a few stairs to be climbed depending where your room is. Would definitely stay again if I was staying in Kilkenny.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Spursliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear Liam,

Thank you so much for your review of the Club House Hotel. I am delighted to read your review and that you would be happy to stay with us again. Please don't hesitate to request a room on the first floor on your next visit and we would be happy to oblige.
Looking forward to welcoming you on another occasion and thank you once again for taking the time to review us,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews