We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
107
129
94
49
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
129
94
49
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an older hotel night porter medieval city poached eggs beds were comfortable location is excellent food was lovely great weekend one night stay centre of town visit kilkenny hen party bar food clubhouse geraldine barman castle
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 425 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This Hotel is an 18th century hotel and has all the charm you would expect from a building so old. The rooms are very comfortable and a nice size but the shower and toilet are very small but this would not put me off. The staff are so nice and friendly and the receptionist was so helpful and there was nothing she did not know about Kilkenny. We had lunch on the Sunday afternoon in the hotel bar and this was full of mostly locals so that is always a great sign. The food was lovely and staff very efficient. Breakfast cooked fresh once you order and very good. Free Car Park at the back of the hotel which is a plus as not many hotels have there own parking and usually you would have to pay. I will definately stay here again.

Carmel. Co. Clare

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel was a classic regional style. Winding conglomerate of hallways, rustic hotel look and feel. If you are looking for modern, don't go, but if you are looking for an interesting hotel at a great price and location, this is for you. Front desk staff was very very helpful. They know the area and can make your trip very enjoyable. Take their advice with confidence on eateries and travel planning.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Club House during the Savours of Kilkenny festival, the location of the hotel is very central and we could walk everywhere. The rooms are simply furnished but very clean and comfortable. The food is excellent and the breakfast is freshly cooked - delicious. The Staff are friendly and welcoming. We are coming back!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank tulipstoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here on a very busy weekend so the place was full but we were situated down the back of the facility and had a good nights sleep.
Accomodation was fairly basic but close to all town places of interest and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They assisted me in sorting out some travelling issues and went out of their way to be accomodating.
It was quite hot when we stayed and a fan was provided to every room. If you are looking for a pub hotel experience then this is for you!

Room tip: Rooms at rear of facility are away from street noise.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Why this place was recommended by Rick Steves is a mystery to me. Horrible room. Plastic covers underneath sheets. Sticky bathroom floor. Heat didn't work. When we complained about the heat they put a space heater in our room while we were out to dinner. When we returned we found the door to our room had been left open. The place felt like a fifty year old howard johnson's hotel that had been abandoned. Don't be fooled by the website. The website does not reflect reality. Overpriced and the food was really bad.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews