We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Club House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised during our stay at the hotel having read some poor reviews. The staff were very friendly and gave very good advice on music sessions in the city and where to visit the following day. The food was excellent both for dinner in the evening and for breakfast the following day. The room was clean and perfect for all we needed such as shower, towels etc. The hotel is old and the décor reflects this and it feels like stepping back in time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

After reading all the bad reviews The Club House Hotel got I must admit I wasn't looking forward to staying there. I stayed for two nights with my younger sister and chose it purely because it was the cheapest option we had for the August Bank Holiday. I've lots of friends who live in KK and so I've nearly stayed in every hotel in the town at this stage. Trust me when I say this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in. The customer service was great, when we arrived we were welcomed and our bags were brought to our room without having to ask. The hotel is dated but I think it really adds to the Medieval City vibe. It's clean and extremely pretty with Victorian wallpaper, portraits, chandelliers and giant mirrors. The location is spot on also. It's right in the middle of everything so no taxis required. Breakfast was gorgeous also partying wasn't a problem (We staggered in both nights at around 3am and the doorstaff were a good laugh) The only problem with this hotel is that there are no lifts so ask for a room near the groundfloor if you can. Also some of the rooms were quite small (I had a good old nose when the cleaners were sorting them out) Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel and I will certainly be back. Staff were great, hotel was so different to anywhere I've ever stayed and the breakfast did the job. Perfect for what we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the ground floor as there are no lifts! Also try and get a room with a double an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexlee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel in such detail for other travellers to read. I was so happy to read all your lovely comments about the hotel, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Club House Hotel in the near future

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here Last night with my friends the place is nice abit old fashioned but the rooms were nice abit of a maze to find the rooms all in all not bad I'm not sure if it was worth the money we paid for it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

stayed for five nights.we loved it great staff great food.much nicer than all the new hotels great charm.
the hotel is in a great location right in the middle of kilkenny just walk out the door and everything is beside you no need to look for parking or taxis.we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your views with other travellers. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the charm of the hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Club House Hotel in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here last night - we stayed in room 9 only for we were only staying one night & were running late when we arrived I'd have ran out of the place !! Dated isn't the word - room hasnt been decorated since the 70s I'd say, horrific decor and a dingy stale feeling in there , cheap job on a slide bathroom door that doesn't close fully ?? Drippy tap and room right over when they change all the kegs etc so we were woken very early with all the racket. We didn't even shower here couldn't wait to leave the ugliest room I've ever stayed in !! Can't believe their allowing customers to sleep in it! We were disgusted to see the Hibernian a few doors down advertising rooms for €80 when we paid €70 for this place - never again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TippKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we are very grateful to you for sharing your views. I was very disappointed to read your review and that you did not enjoy your stay in the hotel. We have been continuing the process of upgrading the hotels bedrooms, however there are a handful of rooms that are awaiting upgrading when funds allow, and we would hope that the remainder of the rooms will be completed soon.

It is evident from your review that you were very unhappy with your room, and should you wish to discus further I would be more than happy to do so, and can be contacted directly,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager,
Tel: 056-7721994
manager@clubhousehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just back from a 4 day stay with my husband, the hotel was just ok.. we had a meal in the hotel one night I had bellypork it was the worst thing I have eaten my whole stay..on them other hand the breakfasts were lovley.but a pot of coffee would have been better I felt the staff who were lovley had to much to do..

Room Tip: Ask for a front room we were to far back....to many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your views. I was disappointed to read some of your comments, particularly about the belly of pork from our new "Gathering Menu". I will most certainly be speaking to our head chef and kitchen staff about this as our new menu has proven very popular with our customers and I am surprised to hear that we had produced a dish that received such negative remarks.

I am very grateful to you for your comments, as we continually strive to improve our standards of food and service, and constructive criticism such as yours really helps us to achieve our goals.

I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you to the Club House Hotel again in the future and have the chance to redeem ourselves,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
manager@clubhousehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights B&B with dinner on 1 night,courtesy of my daughter and her boyfriend. The hotel was quite old but was clean and comfortable. It had all you needed for a short stay, including a bath, which you don't often find in modern hotels. We ate there one night and the food was really good, but the best part of the hotel was the staff. They were friendly, welcoming, informative and genuinely interested in making sure you had a good visit, not only to their hotel but to their city. Kilkenny itself is one of the most beautiful cities I have seen in Ireland, the castle is well worth the tour. You will love wandering down medieval streets and lanes and taking in the sights, all within walking distance of the central hotel. Make time for a visit to Kytelers bar for lunch, the Left Bank for a drink, the Black Abbey and the castle for a guided tour. I will be back to Kilkenny and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubkk, Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for your review of the Club House Hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your views with other travellers. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Kilkenny so much and took in some of the many sights and visited some of our wonderful bars & restaurants. I was also glad to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hotel and that our staff took such good care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Club House Hotel for your next visit to Kilkenny,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Club House Hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club House Hotel

Address: 19 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 DX76, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: $72 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Club House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing traditional hospitality with modern day luxuries, The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is a charming family run hotel in the heart of Medieval Kilkenny City. This magnificent 18th Century Kilkenny Hotel maintains a 210 year old traditional of effortless comfort hospitality and efficiency. The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is located in a quiet area on Patrick Street, just around the corner from the famous Kilkenny Castle & Design Centre and less than a minutes walk from shopping, bars, restaurants, nightclubs and attractions making it the ideal place to stay for your visit to Kilkenny. Complimentary Wireless Internet Access is also available in certain areas of the Club House Kilkenny Hotel as well as complementary onsite carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club House Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Club House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing