We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to have an event”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“A lovely place to have an event”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I attended a family gathering at Newpark Hotel. The dinner the hotel prepared for us was fantastic and the dining room was absolutely beautiful. I especially enjoyed the bar/restaurant where the family hung out before, during, and after family events. The atmosphere was fantastic. The lobby was also a great place to hang out.

I caugh tthe train in from Dublin and the hotel is a quick taxi ride from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    536
    155
    73
    39
See reviews for
703
561
20
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cashel, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed in the hotel last December and I am still speaking about our stay! we attended a wedding in the hotel and everything, the setting, the food, the staff was excellent!! Mundy singing a few songs at the wedding certainly was an added bonus as was meeting Sharon Shannon, Shane McGowan in the bar as they were residents there. A special word for Mick, the night porter, who went above and beyond to ensure everything and everybody was being looked after! All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Just back from a few days stay in the Newpark Hotel, KK. We had a fantastic stay, this hotel is extremely child friendly. Most people staying at the hotel have kids therefore if I was travelling getting away from kids I wouldn't find it suitable. There was a kids club for kids over age 3 or 4 therefore my kids couldn't use this facility but was seemingly very enjoyable and gave the parents a great break. At breakfast, dinner or just in the bar it didn't matter if the kids were crying as there was usually others also crying, which made it very relaxing for us. Swimming pool was lovely with perfect kids pool, termal facilities absolutely fab with the outdoor jacuzzi probably my fav. Fantastic stay well done Newpark we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed in the Newpark Hotel recently for a family wedding and was amazed by the service and the overall friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Right throughout the day, the staff were on hand with a smile and were willing to assist in whatever way they could.
The place is lovely anyway and the wedding was really topped off by the fantastic quality service we received - would totally recommend this hotel! Well done!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maeveaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscrea
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Hi our names are David & Ann Marie Dann. We got married on 24th July 2010. We had our wedding reception in the Newpark Hotel in Kilkenny. The management & staff in the hotel were very very helpful. The woman over the weddings at the hotel is Yvonne Guilfoyle O'Brien. She was very very helpful with everything. The hotel was spotless. The food in the hotel was second to none. The bedrooms are lovely - they are very spacious. The honeymoon suite was gorgous. Everyone we have been talkin to about the wedding said that hotel was a perfect venue for a wedding reception. Everyone said that all the staff at the Newpark Hotel were so friendly & effient on the day. All the meals were very hot. Not one person had any complaints about any part of the meal being lukewarm or cold. Everyone said that they really enjoyed the meal & that everything was cooked perfectly - the meat was tender, the vegetables were cooked perfectly, the soup was lovely & warm etc. Our complements are expressed to the Chief & kitchen staff who provided a top class meal on our wedding day. Our wedding was a great success and that was all down to Yvonne Guilfoyle O'Brien & all staff in the Newpark Hotel. We would highly highly recommend the Newpark Hotel in Kilkenny to anyone who is thinking of having their wedding reception there.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingreviewRoscrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed in a family room for a few days along with our two kids aged under five. Everything fitted our needs very well - room was clean and spacious, found all the staff very friendly and helpful, and the food in both the bar and restaurant was great.
For the kids there is a kids club although we didnt actually make use of it, a very basic playground around the back which is ok for short stints for young kids, and the pool which includes a kids paddling pool. Again, was pleased with how clean everything was in the leisure centre.
Breakfast is worth a special mention as there was a really impressive spread of everything you could ask for and it was very well staffed, ensuring that there was never any waiting to get seated or served.
For our stay, the hotel seemed to be filled mostly with young families with kids ranging from toddlers up to early teens. So with so many kids wandering around at various times, at this time of year it may not be the the best venue for, say, a romantic couples break.
Overall very happy with everything about our stay. This hotel has clearly had a lot of investment and effort put into it in recent years and the results are very good. Would have no hesitation in returning there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheThickPlottens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We recently held our wedding reception in the Newpark Hotel and could not have been happier with the service they provided. From beginning to end they were extremely accommodating and professional. So many of our guests commented on how tasty the food was and the beautiful layout of the room. On the run up to the wedding and on the day itself the wedding coordinator and the managers on duty were a pleasure to work with, they really could not have been more helpful. It really is a fabulous wedding location with members of staff that are second to none.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kklas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing