We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Day”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Wedding Day”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We held our Wedding Reception in the Newpark hotel last year and i have to stay the room, the service the food everything went perfectly i could not praise them enough, the honey moon suite was also fab would highly recommend the Newpark for a wedding.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kilkenny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    545
    162
    73
    40
See reviews for
719
580
21
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

It was a decent place, really pretty on the entry and service was quite good, the room service was quicker than standing around the bar to get served...the meal in the bar area was not that great, and very expensive for what it was.
the room was nice, but again, for location and such, it was more than what i would have paid for anywhere else. Nothing to really complain about, just unmemorable but comfortable. and..when i asked to be switched over the the breakfast inclusive plan becuase it was actually cheaper than what i paid for , i was refused...which doesnt make sense, since you are offering people breakfast and a room for 89 euros, but i paid 99 and wasnt asking to pay less, just wanted the breakfast included as well at that rate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicaldva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Felt obliged to, as they say, put pen to paper, to comment on a really lovely stay we had in the NewPark hotel ealier this month. We had a three night stay with out two young children and really enjoyed the experience. From the moment we arrived at reception, we were greeted in a very professional yet friendly manner, which permeated through all of the staff we met during our stay. The quality of food in both in the restaurant, bar and indeed breakfast was consistently very good and again served with cordilaity and friendliness.
We found the pool and leisure centre very good, the kids really enjoyed this, howver would love to have seen some additional activities organised for the kids in the hotel or a kiddies club but this is only a small point.
In summary would recommend a stay in the Newpark, Kilkenny without hesitation to anybody visiting the beautiful city of Kilkenny

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeathTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

After attending a wedding in this hotel last year which was superbly catered for (lets just say they even provided a TV to watch the six nations during the reception upon request), I was more than eager to return to the city with my friend in tow. The rooms were as spacious and well-furbished as I remembered. All the staff were friendly and obliging and the food was delicious. Of course what we were most interested in, which incidentally we didn't have time for the previous year were the spa facilities. With sauna, steam room, plunge pool, swimming pool and infinity pool, we were not disappointed and did our utmost to make the most of all that the hotel had on offer.

All in all it was an extremely relaxing weekend break and I would thoroughly recommend any that visit the city (which incidentally was beautiful) to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed here with my girlfriend at the start of February. We found the hotel no problem due to its location on the main road into town, and there was plenty of parking (we drove seperately!). Our room was on the first floor and was perfect - spacious and comfortable, what you'd expect from a quality hotel. we had one dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and staff were more than happy to recommend spots to visit in kilkenny in the daytime and evenings. breakfasts were also fantastic and there was no shortage of food dished out!
the pool and spa was included in our price and very relaxing which we made use of both mornings of our weekend. no disturbances at nighttime thankfully, as some of the more central hotels can get noisy particularly at closing time in the main streets and by-ways in kilkenny. some are very close to Langtons and Morrisons, the main nightclubs that attract the hen party scene. our hotel was within short walking distance of anywhere in town, but far enough away from the nighttime revellers made it ideal after coming home from town. we spent our saturday night in kytlers which is a pub/club in a medieval building on a laneway just off the main street, and much preferred it to the other spots we visited during our stay. different crowd than anywhere else, unique building and decor, relatively cheap and would highly recomment it...

overall found newpark to be exactly what i wanted in a hotel for a weekend in kilkenny. ive been here once before and thoroughly enjoyed my stay in newpark. would recommend it to anyone visiting kk. perfect location, great food, easily reached from all routes in and out of town and the staff went out of their way to help us with anything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbill1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The hotel looked nice from the outside but rooms were disgusting, we wer put on the bottom floor (basement) in the old part of the hotel, the rooms wer lik sumting out of an old folks home not the rooms we saw on the net. We wer told we could not have dinner in the main restrant as they couldnt cather for 10 of us so there would be a table reserved in the bar for us to eat our dinner when we paid 200 euro foe 1 ni to stay and not hav dinner in the bar. anyways we went to the bar at 9 it was full wi no tables so we asked the staff wer our table was dat was reserved for us and they had no idea wat we wer talking about so we had to wait 20 mins for them to get us a table, the food was ok in the end!! The staff wer realy rude and didnt want to help us with anything which was realy annoying!! the pool was like ice had to get out after a second as it was like geting into the sea!! Overall we hated the hotel and would never go back for the money they charged it was a disgrace!! Kilkenny was great we had a ball bit would never go back to this hotel never never never again!! Wat a dump!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

After visiting Ireland for Christmas we were in Kilkenny visiting family and stayed at the Newpark for 3 nights. We booked 2 interconnecting rroms as we are a family of 2 adults and 3 children and were placed on the ground floor directly opposite the only lifts in the building and the main entrance way into the area where all the rooms are located which later led to a very disturbed sleep.
The staff upon check in were friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were a great size however the shower design was appaling and water leaked all over the floor ( they also had instructions placed in the showers to show you where to point the nozzle which didnt make much difference).
At 6pm we went to place an order for room service for dinner and after choosing our dishes the person on the phone proceeded to tell me that the menu in our room was not availible today and told me to go out to the resteraunt to choose. The next day we did the same and were told as there was a weddingon that that menu was not availible.
Needles to say we gave up on room service after that.
Breakfast service was lovely and the staff very helpfull. The hot buffet food i found to be average and definately not worth the money. They had a nice selction of friut juices, breads, danishes, cereals and yoghurts.
The food in the restaraunt and pub was nice and you could quite happily stay there for the evening and not venture into the town for a drink. The staff were freindly but unfortunately had not idea what was going on half the time and there never seemed to be any one in charge.
The service was the biggest let down of our stay, you would get a far superior standard from one of the many locally run B&Bs for a much better price. I stayed at the Hotel Ormonde on our last visit to Kilkenny 3 Years ago and am kicking myself for not booking there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaydreamer932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,925 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing