We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly great”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Just back from a two night stay with extended family (adults & kids) in the Newpark Hotel. Arrived Saturday evening, check-in was efficient and straight up to our Superior room. I have some basic grips regarding the room; the bed linen is very basic and not up to four star standard. There are sheets and blankets which as far as I am concerned is too old fashioned and in a newly refurbished hotel you would expect good quality duvets, pillows and linen etc Neither is there bottled water in the room. I didn't see the basic rooms and would wonder how they differ. The bathroom was fairly good except for a strange smell and the shower splashed all over the floor,.... poor design. On a positive note the room/ensuite was spotlessly clean, as was the entire hotel during my stay and was exceptionally quiet at night which contributed to a very restfull nights sleep.
We ate in the restaurant which was fine for our group. Service was particularly friendly and efficient both at dinner and each morning at breakfast. The managers on both days were very helpfull and up to the job. The buffet breakfast is basic. I ordered fried eggs both mornings which arrived promptly and without fuss. I can't say the same for the barman I encountered in the main bar. I got the impression he would rather be anywhere else and never even acknowledged my greeting, instead splashed my drinks onto the bar and turned to go in the opposite direction.
The entrance and the lobby are nicely decorated in modern tones and furnishings and would be very comfortable except for the sliding doors combined with very cold weather leaving it almost impossible to sit around, especially away from the fireplace.
The leisure centre and spa is wonderful and the saving grace of the hotel. The outdoor hot spa pool is worth the trip alone. I hadn't any treatments so can't comment on them.
So all in all my experience in this hotel left me hot and cold,... much like the premises itself

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakecounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

Got a good deal at this hotel. Good facilities ( restaurant with good food , pool etc ). Not too far from the city centre ( maybe 10 mins walk or so ).

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Went away with my whole family for a break at New years, this is our third year to do this with all my extended family and what a fantastic two days we all had .The staff in the hotel were very helpful and checkin was very efficient the girls on reception were so friendly and helpful and dealt with us all quickly and easily .
The superior family rooms are very spacious and have been refurbished recently, The pool and spa room staff are very nice and allow the kiddies have fun in the pool all leading to a very pleasant time had by all .
We had lunch in the bar and the food was execellant and not too expensive try the fish and chips yummy. The hotel put on a great night for New Years eve night they had music in the bar and then a fireworks display outside at 12 o'clock the atmosphere was great and everyone had a great night .
We had an meal booked in the restaurant on New years day as part of the package and when we requested a chicken dish that was not on the menu for my Mum the staff had no problem getting this for her even thought the restaurant was full , the meal was perfect and they served us all together which was a task as there were 25 in the party .
Any queries were deal with on the spot and the motto of this hotel is ' we can do'
Well done guys hope to see you next year and we will definately recommend and be back to this hotel . Thanks for a great start to 2010

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We got Married in December and our guests are still talking about the food and the service that we received. It was top class.
The staff were friendly and attentive without being obtrusive.
I would highly recommend this hotel. When we walked into the function room it looked so romantic with huge chandeliers. The owner oversees the start of the meal to ensure that everything is perfect for the couple and their guests. I was highly impressed. These kind of touches as well as the dealings that We had with Mary Bergin, Aileen and Yvonne were what helped in our decision to choose the Newpark.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilberLaois_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Got Married in November in the Newpark. Yvonne and her team were fantastic in the run up. All went smoothly on the day and the staff looked after us brilliantly. Food was excellent and the room worked perfectly for the night with a good dace floor, but also plenty of alcoves for people to sit and talk. I could not fault the whole experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

The Newpark Hotel is a lovely hotel just minutes away from the centre of Kilkenny City. My partner and I decided to have a last minute get away in the middle of the week and found the hotel quiet and relaxing.

The hotel has recently undergone refurbishment and we were lucky enough to get upgraded free of charge to one of the newly decorated deluxe bedrooms. The bathroom was fantastic with a wetroom shower incorporated. The room overlooking pretty gardens.

The Escape Health Club and Spa was adequate, with a good treatment list and an outside Jacuzzi, which seems to be the current trend. I spent quite some time in it. We definitely recharged our batteries.

Breakfast service was good, but lunch and dinner in the bar was poor. Service was below average and food OK. There are plenty of quant restaurants in the city to avail of as an alternative.

The hotel is a great base for visiting the medieval city and touring the south-east of Ireland.

The Hotel is a family-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stayed here in Nov 2009 and the Bar, restaurants, foyer are all as you would expect from a four star hotel. The health spa is really nice with sauna, steam room, plunge pool, swimming pool and a really nice infinity pool outside. The staff were kind, professional and helpful.... there's a catch...

However the rooms are very tired and in need of renovation - very bare bones, no fridge, no alarm clock, no DVD player (or possibility of renting one) and couldn't connect to the free wireless internet. Bathroom, carpets, beds and decoration were pretty drab. If it weren't for the quality of the rest of the hotel and the excellent spa we'd have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,745 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $87 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing