We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed for one night recently when attending a family funeral, it was a short but fantastic experience. Our room was warm and very well equipped with a spacious bathroom/walk in shower, it had a good comfortable bed.We had breakfast in our room to save time {which can sometimes be a bad experience} our breakfast was perfect, beautifully cooked and delivered promptly by a very polite server. The room had a very good dining area with an adequate table and chairs which made eating breakfast a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is bright and airy with a welcoming feel once you come through the front door, large lounge area with an open fire add to its ambience.....however it is the staff that are its greatest asset, we had a warm friendly welcome from Isobel at reception, she was just as friendly when we left next morning. Hotels can be luxurious and impressive but if it's staff are cold and disinterested it doesn't work, the Newpark ticks all the boxes, excellent hotel with super staff, we'll be back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Cal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    539
    156
    73
    40
See reviews for
711
569
20
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We recently got married in the Newpark before christmas and we had a wonderful day! The staff were so helpful at every time we visited the hotel prior to our big day and on the day itself !
The General Manager Mark Dunne and his wedding team Yvonne and colleagues looked after us so well!
The Hotel is beautiful, the food is to the highest standards, the service the setting and the surrounds of the hotel are amazing! we loved the atmosphere in the hotel and we always look forward to visiting again and again. Our guests are still commenting on what a great day it was!
I would highly recommend the Newpark Hotel to anyone looking to get married in Kilkenny! You will have the wedding day of your dreams ! Thanks again to all the staff that made our Day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night as we were at a funeral in Kilkenny. We had 2 rooms as we are 2 adults and 3 children 9 13 14. Lovely rooms with a double and 2 singles in each. Staff were really good and friendly. Breakfast was very good with nice waiting staff. Swimming pool was a real treat with a plunge pool, sauna and out-door hot pool. Swimming pool was really warm. Plenty of parking and close to town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenruledriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel was excellent -bright and welcoming but what really made this a super stay was the staff. Whether it's good recruitment and training or just people taking pride in their job the staff are a credit to the hotel. Stayed recently for a family wedding and the whole affair couldn't have been more perfect. Excellent food, entertainment and support.
The room was comodious and the bed so very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good with the best sausages I've ever tasted. We also had a private family dinner which was hosted in a private room which the hotel had dressed appropriately - it made it very special.
Well done everyone at Newpark....and thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeegieQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Staying one night on business, I had a huge 'family' room which was well equipped with trouser press, ironing board etc. and the most comfortable bed I've ever had on my travels. Strangely, though, the ironing board was fixed in an open position, so the only place it could be stored was in the wardrobe, whereupon any suits or shirts could not hang freely. TV reception was poor on certain channels, and the hotel corridors can seem a bit maze-like at times. However, these are minor complaints; overall the hotel, its staff, facilities and restaurant were very good, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear HockeyJohn,


Thank you personally for choosing Newpark Hotel and also for your recent review.

Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities The Newpark has to offer.

I appreciate your feedback and will review with our Accommodation Manager.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Thank You.


Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in a family room. Room was big enough. Bed unbelievable comfortable !!!! Prices are a little bit high, but hey its 4* property and i think it is worth every penny !! i think it is a Very nice hotel. Good staff. Food in the bar nice too. I will definitely will be back here again!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear ArnoldMa,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and for writing your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting me personally before your next visit to the Newpark Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of the Newpark's renowned hospitality.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I recently ate here with a group of friends. The food was gorgeous and the service was excellent. The waiters and waitresses are a credit to your hotel. We ate the same night ye had a wedding so the prompt service was even more impressive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank raptor999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear raptor999,

Thank you for your recent review and for dining in our recently refurbished Scott's Brasserie.

We are delighted and proud of such feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friend back to Scott's Brasserie & Newpark Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Mark Dunne

General Manager
The Newpark Hotel
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing