We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Weddings down to a fine art" ambience, service and food excellent.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Weddings down to a fine art" ambience, service and food excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

From arrival to departure the atmosphere, service and product were exceedingly good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddybozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Teddybozo,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your event here at the Newpark Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We really appreiate you takeing the time to write a review as it is only by recieving feedback that we can improve on the Newpark Experience.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    523
    150
    72
    39
See reviews for
672
538
20
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for five nights in the Newpark Kilkenny in August 2011. We had the time of our lives, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were treated like we were the only guests and pampered from start to finish. The kids club allowed my husband and I a break and to spend some quality time together without the kids. Food was excellent and the accommodation superb.We will be returning if we can get a reservation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

From my first dealings with Marcella in the hotel i found her to be very help full in my booking, nothing was a problem for her. Even to taxi advise to dealing with me changing my room bookings on several occasions. We had a fab meal in a lovely room, the table was set like it would be at a wedding the waiting staff were excellent, the bar staff and reception staff nothing was a problem. We had a treatment in the spa so enjoyed the staff were lovely. There was 17 girls in total who stayed and all had a ball.. Thank you so much. Olive

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive3519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Olive3591,

Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure having you stay at the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend and we look forwad to having you all stay again.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We got a great deal through a third party website and stayed here on the second weekend in July.
We were quickly checked in by a lovely lady who told us everything we needed to know. Our rooms are right at the back of the hotel in the old part of the hotel, I noticed some bad reviews earlier for this part of the hotel but to be honest, we could not fault the room, it was clean and spacious and was very good for the price.
The bar was OK, we went for a few drinks on the Friday night and found there was no atmosphere in the bar, not even any music playing in the background.
We got breakfast to the room every morning for an extra 5 Euro Per Person, the food was good and also right on time.
All in all, we were very satisfied with this hotel and would definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keegan_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Keegan_80,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you stay.

We really appreciate your honest feedback it is only by acting on this that we can improve guests experiences at the Newpark Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again for writing the review.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Hotel modernised - not particularly inviting on the exterior but once you get past that you are in! Very welcoming staff on arrival and family room with two singles and a double was a good size - no airconditioning so it was a little warm with 4 in the room. Hotel bar suitable for families (not a romantic setting really) but as we had the boys with us it was grand. We both remarked after a few days that there were no screaming children - very pleasant. Leisure centre excellent. Food good - breakfast buffets excellent with hot, cold, savoury, sweet all readily available :-)

Room Tip: Look for the deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiranhaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Piranhair,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel.

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

We really appreciate your feedback.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked online for the Newpark from an alternative hotel booking site. We didnt take care on the details - we were advised on breakfast times and then shown to the table the next day for breakfast. Only on check out did we discover breakfast was not included and were charged 25.90. Our mistake sure but surely there should be something to indicate the price or indeed the restaurant manager should alert you that breakfast is not included and costs X€.
There was also a room joined on with an adjoining door - it was occupied with cackling women who woke us up at god knows what time. €20 in and out in a taxi as well made it an expensive place to stay. Not a great hotel to celebrate your anniversary in.

Anyway sorry Newpark we won't be returning. Stayed in the Ormonde on Saturday night and found it to be superior in everyway - PS we have stayed in the Newpark on 4 occasions without a problem but this was the last time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear KJ9,


Thank your for your review and I am sorry you were disappointed with the hotel, particularly in relation to your misunderstanding regarding Room Rate v Bed & Breakfast Rate. It is always our policy to advise breakfast times etc on check-in but I am sure this confusion marred your stay with us somewhat.

Unfortunately from time to time we have guests who lack consideration for other residents which is an exception rather than the rule here in Newpark and is normally dealt with as a matter of urgency by our night porters when advised of same.

Customer satisfaction is hugely important to us here in Newpark Hotel and I would very much like to regain your confidence in us and offer you a complimentary upgrade to a superior room should you decide to pay us a return visit

Thank you for your constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

we spent 3 days in Kilkenny. it was our first time in the hotel but it won't be our last. As a group there was no difficulity in organising for dinner or a taxi into town. staff were excellent. Thanks for a great break. Ellmarie

Room Tip: Ask for what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adermody, Director of Sales at Newpark Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Ellamarie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.

Thank you for you kind words it was a pleasure to have you stay in the Newpark Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to the Hotel in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing