We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but air con a big failing”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
londonderry n.ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff but air con a big failing”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed 3 of the most relaxing night of the past years. Staff couldn't of been nicer, namely Lorna, Kieron and Michael in the Pure restaurant. Only one major failing is lack of aircon in the rooms. Weather was sweltering at night and not enough fans to go around

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Kevin D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our valued staff, Needless to say I will pass on your kind comments We are however disappointed that you were dis satisfied with other aspects of your stay. Our usual moderate climate doesn't demand air conditioning but the recent unfamiliar warmth has caused some discomfort and for this I can only apologies. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel and restore your faith back to our property.

Kind Regards,
Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    598
    278
    107
    54
See reviews for
427
908
52
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We really liked this hotel. Very relaxing and comfortable. It was really nice to have music at night to listen to and also a swimming pool, sauna and spa to relax in. We were only here for one night but it felt like more. The breakfast was the only thing that could be improved on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Laurala1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. I was glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manger

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Kilkenny for a one night getaway. No fuss was made by the friendly receptionist Claire about our early arrival and we received a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room without asking! The room was spacious with a small garden area. We were also provided with robes and slippers. The leisure area was really nice too. We did not have dinner at the hotel but breakfast the next morning did not disappoint. Overall we would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. Town is about a ten minute walk (the sun was shining for a change!!.) The hotel also seems to be very child friendly so we might even bring our little one the next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank High_Standards123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We were was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, that you found the team pleasant and that our location was convenient for your stay. I will pass on all your kind words,
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Warm Regards,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here to attend a meeting in Kilkenny and decided to stay overnight to save the long drive back.
First impressions:
The hotel is well presented and clean, check in was fast.
Rooms:
The rooms are of a fair standard although not air conditioned which was a surprise
Food:
Stayed on B&B basis and was looking forward to breakfast in the morning and was delighted to see it was a waiting service breakfast, however after a long wait we had to seat ourselves and it was another long wait until we were asked for our order, this was followed by another long wait for the Drink and food, both of which would have been described as poor buffet quality, other members of our meeting who also stayed later commented that it was posible the worse breakfast they had ever had and I would concur!
Facilities:
Good facilities from meeting rooms to bars and resturants
Local area:
20 minute walk into main Kilkenny, would pick something more central if visiting the centre.
Staff and Service:
Receiption staff are very nice and efficient in performing their role, catering staff however showed little interest in customer service.

Will not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Slowey,

Thank you for your feedback. At Hotel Kilkenny we deliver immense training to all our staff to ensure each guest enjoys a first class experience. I want to personally apologies for the shortcomings you experienced in our Hotel. I would like to show you this during another possible stay. If you wish to email me directly, to check availability and consider staying at the Hotel again so we can try and display this. Thank you once again for your feedback as it is only through customer feedback that we can improve.

Kind Regards,
Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager
clawlor@hotelkilkenny.ie

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in 225 last week during hot spell, room itself was lovely but with no air con it was absolutely baking which left it a bit uncomfortable. Staff in restaurant very helpful and attentive with a special mention to Ross who brought my 5 year old daughter over to Buffett table for treats! Overall I would certainly stay again but would be checking the weather to ensure low temperatures.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Chahill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. As the weather in Ireland has been fantastic unfortunately it does have its draw backs, as we are not used to this climate, there is not much demand for air conditioning in the rooms. I am delighted to read that your recent stay with us was enjoyable and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again soon and exceed your expectations.

With Kindest Regards,

Ciara Lawlor

Front Office Manager

We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My couple and I stayed here for a weekend and the hotel staff and atmosphere was excellent! We both had a treatment in the lovely spa and a great meal in the restaurant! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! Will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Tara M,

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at the hotel and that you took the time to share your experience with others. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Orchard Spa team and the entire team here!
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Warm Regards,

Ciara Lawlor
Front Office Manager

_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

It's a modern business hotel and doesn't have a lot of charm. But it's well equipped and clean. Our room faced west and, with no air con, was extremely hot (even at 11pm). The reception staff provided a fan though so that helped. Breakfast service was slow. We were seated and then had to wait 10 mins to be asked if we wanted team or coffee, and for our cooked order to be taken. And that was only because I went and grabbed a waiter. There were plenty of staff on duty but they seemed adept at avoiding eye contact! Quality of breakfast was okay but I'm sure "fresh fruit" doesn't come from tins in syrup as theirs did

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, General Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Andy

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are currently experiencing exceptionally humid weather for Ireland and air con would not be common place in hotel bedrooms. I'm delighted the fan helped. I ave also discussed your comments with our breakfast team, and thank you for bringing these to my attention

i hope you will visit us again

Best regards

David Byrne
General Manager
dbyrne@hotelkilkenny.ie
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing