We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fairly ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice enough hotel on the outskirts of the city, about a 15 - 20 minute walk realistically into the centre. The room was fine, slightly grubby with a bit more attention to detail needed eg some water marks on the shower and a stain under the sink, additionally our room was not serviced. We left the please clean room sign on the door and I double checked it wasnt the wrong way around and when we returned it had been turned to do not disturb , we were left towels though so it wasnt too big a deal, our room was at the end of the corridor so cant see how someone would have turned it around for a joke... Anyway the service was a bit disappointing, we called 4 times for ice and waited from 6pm to 9.30pm to receive it. Apparently the bar was busy with a wedding. I find it frustrating when hotels cater for weddings at the expense of other guests. The hotel other than this was fine, it just lacks atmosphere and is too far from town to draw me back. Additionally we had breakfast in bed which was poor, two slices of toast for 2 people wrapped in tissue and cheap meats. I wouldnt recommend or return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babydoll27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly thank you for your review, I am sorry that you feel the standard of service you received was not up to standard. I can only imagine that someone did in fact turn your card the wrong way around as the Accommodation Team would not have left towels outside otherwise. With regards to your ice - this is not acceptable and not the norm for us and for this I apologise. I would like to say thank you for bringing these details to our attention and they will all be actioned straight away.

Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    561
    261
    102
    49
See reviews for
386
837
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel just one night. Our room was very quiet. There was a spider web in the corner of the window, in the morning the spider was visible. We were able to walk to Kilkenny Castle and all the other major sites in town. The breakfast was very good. We were connected to a major workout facility. Parking was free and very handy. All of the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: I didn't notice any bad room locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments, I will ensure all rooms are checked straight away. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and also for your kind comments about your stay with us.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms are good size and well equipped. The food is excellent, restaurant can be noisy with kids who are supposed to be gone from 7PM (if that annoys you) and can be a bit packed. Reception are very helpful. Free parking (big car park) and the fast broadband. Ground floor rooms are a bit iffy if you are concerned about security so ask for an upper level.
10/15/20 minutes walk from city centre, and some routes are shorter than others.
A good hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are a bit iffy if you are concerned about security so ask for an upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmon116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to read your review and hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Kilkenny and had a wonderful stay. Good rooms and excellent service and fantastic food.
Laura on reception couldn't help enough and the facilities on offer were top class. The hotel also offered free parking and the fast broadband.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind comments about Laura I will be sure that she gets a copy of your review.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kilkenny last week. My group of 40 or so senior citizens were very happy with their accomodation. Their rooms were bright, clean and cpmfortable and where a few people had special needs their requests were met wiith quick, effecient and very friendly service.
The staff names that stand out for me were Fiona, Alva, Mark, Jason, Rebecca and Michelle, add to them all the other staff in the dining room, the bar, room service etc and you have the friendliest, most helpful team of people I have encountered in the various hotels where we have stayed in the last few years. The food was absolutely lovely with a varied choice each evening. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet of everything cereals,, fruit etc and a cooked breakfast was to order. Now that we've experienced Hotel Kilkenny, I hope to bring my group to The Ferrycarrig Hotel. Wexford (another Griffin Group hotel ) where I am confident that I will receive the top grade attention I got in Hotel Kilkenny. Thanks to all the staff at Hotel Kilkenny. Well done !!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd Floor were particularily nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for our first night in Ireland after driving from Dublin airport. The hotel was easy to find and in a good location. It's approximately a 10 minute walk to the city center along a busy street that passes a beautiful old college along the way. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and let us check in early. Breakfast was great as well. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review, I am delighed you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully in the near future we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staying in this hotel had to be the most relaxing weekend ever. It was so beautiful and no stress or worries. The bedroom was so beautifully layed out and everything that was requested was done to the utmost highest standard. There was a full range of foods for breakfast in the mornings and there is a lovely peaceful friendly bar just off to the left as you walk into the hotel. Everybody is so friendly and helpful in there. So id recommend this hotel to anyone if you are looking for a stress free peaceful fun weekend with your girlfriend or wife etc away together The grounds are full of beauty also and there is crazy lookin but pleasant muti coloured carpet shaped tiles down the middle of the floor guiding you to your room throughout the hotel but I think this adds a fun style to the look of the hotel hehehe :)

Room Tip: The Deluxe room is so amazing if you are a couple and want to spend a bit of quality time together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rojo247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and everything was perfect. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing