We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but not the best 4* we've stayed in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not the best 4* we've stayed in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just back from 2 nightsin this hotel and overall we had a pleasant stay. The exterior of the hotel is very impressive but the interior, whilst being stylish is quite dull in places and could do with a splash of colour to make it feel more welcoming and cosy. We had dinner included in our package and even though the restaurant wasn't busy, we were waiting over a half an hour for both our starters and mains. However, our waiter Jack (from Poland) was very attentive, pleasant and professional and apologised for the delay numerous times and impressed us very well when he didn't charge us for the bottle of wine we had ordered. Just another thing I have to mention is that I found it quite annoying that the other restaurant staff started setting for breakfast at 8.30pm and were quite noisy when doing so. It's not very pleasant hearing the clinking of glasses and the banging of cups and saucers onto tables when you're trying to enjoy a nice romantic meal. Surely they could wait til service is over and the customers are almost finished?? Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

P.S. Pillows in bedrooms way too hard!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snicranaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review, overall I do think your enjoyed your stay with us... I have taken note about the pillows and have passed your comments onto our Accommodation Manager.
I would also like to apologies for the set-up of breakfast while you were still dining in the restaurant - again I will ensure that our Restaurant Manager is made aware of this and I can assure you that this will not happen again !
Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    561
    261
    102
    50
See reviews for
386
839
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is not a 4 Star Hotel.
THE ROOM
We were shown to a dated, ill lit bedroom located on the ground floor (below reception level)
The bed was smaller than a double bed very low to the ground, which could be an issue for some people.
The bathroom was dated, showing some humidy stains in ceiling and walls.
The furniture was a conundrum of things, a mismatch of new pieces with chipped wardrobes that had seen better and times about 20 years ago.
The lighting did not make things better, take into account that we are at the lower level of the hotel, the bulbs were not powerful enough and the lamp was located not in the middle of the room but towards the window, making the place quite dark.
THE FOOD
The bar food was ok, nothing special but edible.
On the other hand, breakfast was terrible. The fry was some of the worse I have had. Take into account that we are in Ireland and it is quite difficult to mess up a fry. Don't take my taste for granted but the other guests we were staying it were turned out by it as well.
THE FACILITIES
Good kitted out gym, some of the material is dated but well kept. The swimming pool area is very clean and the pool is fantastic. I can say the same about the sauna and common areas, really good.
THE SERVICE
Staff was polite however, they lacked basic knowledge. When I enquired at the bar whether they had carvery, they did not know what that was...
During breakfast, they made up to 5 mistakes with our order.
Lunch was not better, forgetting my order and taking over 30 minutes to get some pub grub.
THE MANAGEMENT
I only had the chance to interact with 1 of the managers. He was a very pleasant man. Hard working, you could see he was helping out in the bar like everyone else.

To sum up. From my experience, this is not a 4 Star hotel. The rooms do not live up to the standard and neither does the food nor the service.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genincio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments, however I am very disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us.
I am very sorry that our bedrooms didn't rank high with your personal taste ... however we have just completed a refurbishment of guest bedrooms and the feedback from this has been very positive so I am sorry you didn't like them. Breakfast - we do cook all to order and so as you can imagine i am very surprised by your comments, we have received great comments about this is the past and the fact that everything is cooked to order ensures that our guests receive exactly what they order freshly cooked.
With regards to the Team, I have to say we have one of the very best ... we receive numerous comments about the Team here each week and this I can say without hesitation is our very best asset.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Kilkenny, sadly only for 1 night, in July 2013. We arrived late in the day without a booking. Reading the reviews I am sorry we didn't book ahead and have a patio room, although our room was fine - very clean and tidy. Reception staff were great - friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious, and there was plenty of it as well as cereal, fruit, yoghurt, etc. We left our car in the carpark and walked down to the city centre - a nice walk without the hassle of trying to find a park. If we had more time we would have extended our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and got to sample most areas within the hotel.
Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Enjoyable stay for two nights in July with wife and three children. Staff were very friendly and helpful however family room was a bit small for 3 kids, fairly basic and bathroom dated. Restaurant was clean and food was excellent and good value. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0bbarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I wonder if your room was one of our larger Family Rooms of which have a double and 2 singled beds in the room. Unfortunately we only have a limited number of these type of rooms so they do get taken up very quickly. That being said I do hope you had a good time with us and hopefully we shall see you back with us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed recently in the hotel kilkenny and found the experience truly excellent, recently engaged we received an upgrade to a lovely garden room with patio doors to our own area outside.The staff were friendly with a smile for everyone from Claire at front desk to the bar and waitstaff to the leisure centre attendants.The facilities are excellent with a mix of an old and very new buildings.Ten minutes walk to the town centre,with taxi's parked outside constantly made getting about really easy.Can't wait to go back !! with very reasonable prices for a four star.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinead g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will also ensure that Claire sees a copy of your review. Thanks again and kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one night, reception staff efficient and friendly, rooms adequate, surprised to find in room booklet a price for every single item in room down to waste bin or even face cloth, so if you accidentally take it you will be charged, at least you know what it will be !!! breakfast on a sunday morning finished at 10am which I think is too early although I was in time for my breakfast it was a busy dinning room, so be sure to be on time. you can get coffee and snack at reception and waiting times for tables are advised there. The shower in the room I stayed in was very poor if it was raining you would get a better shower by standing outside !!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms if weather is hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. However I wonder if you mentioned your shower to anyone either at Reception or indeed if you made contact with one of our Duty Managers as either way we would have been able to fix your shower straight away.
Again my apologies and if you could please let me know by contacting the Hotel directly what your room number was so we can double check your shower we would greatly appreciate it.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend this weekend for a one night stay on a Saturday and we were devastated we only booked for the one night. The staff were nothing but pleasant and helpful asking if we enjoyed our meal and stay even after check out! We had our dinner in the restaurant the portions were very generous and breakfast the next morning was lovely. While we were there we took advantage of the leisure centre and enjoyed a treat in the spa. We could not believe the value and service we received during our stay and definitely will be back!! The only thing that went wrong was a busybody local chatting through us all through or breakfast we could not get a word in...but we even got an apology from the manager for this!! A pleasure to stay in but bring your own hair dyer as the one in the room isn't great!! Will definitely be back very soon to Hotel Kilkenny!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us... such a pity it was only a short trip. Everyone looks forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing