We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely modern friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely modern friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed recently in the hotel kilkenny and found the experience truly excellent, recently engaged we received an upgrade to a lovely garden room with patio doors to our own area outside.The staff were friendly with a smile for everyone from Claire at front desk to the bar and waitstaff to the leisure centre attendants.The facilities are excellent with a mix of an old and very new buildings.Ten minutes walk to the town centre,with taxi's parked outside constantly made getting about really easy.Can't wait to go back !! with very reasonable prices for a four star.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinead g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments, I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will also ensure that Claire sees a copy of your review. Thanks again and kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    564
    261
    101
    51
See reviews for
390
853
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one night, reception staff efficient and friendly, rooms adequate, surprised to find in room booklet a price for every single item in room down to waste bin or even face cloth, so if you accidentally take it you will be charged, at least you know what it will be !!! breakfast on a sunday morning finished at 10am which I think is too early although I was in time for my breakfast it was a busy dinning room, so be sure to be on time. you can get coffee and snack at reception and waiting times for tables are advised there. The shower in the room I stayed in was very poor if it was raining you would get a better shower by standing outside !!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms if weather is hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. However I wonder if you mentioned your shower to anyone either at Reception or indeed if you made contact with one of our Duty Managers as either way we would have been able to fix your shower straight away.
Again my apologies and if you could please let me know by contacting the Hotel directly what your room number was so we can double check your shower we would greatly appreciate it.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend this weekend for a one night stay on a Saturday and we were devastated we only booked for the one night. The staff were nothing but pleasant and helpful asking if we enjoyed our meal and stay even after check out! We had our dinner in the restaurant the portions were very generous and breakfast the next morning was lovely. While we were there we took advantage of the leisure centre and enjoyed a treat in the spa. We could not believe the value and service we received during our stay and definitely will be back!! The only thing that went wrong was a busybody local chatting through us all through or breakfast we could not get a word in...but we even got an apology from the manager for this!! A pleasure to stay in but bring your own hair dyer as the one in the room isn't great!! Will definitely be back very soon to Hotel Kilkenny!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us... such a pity it was only a short trip. Everyone looks forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Large comfortable room with patio. Excellent full Irish Breakfast. 10-15 min walk to town centre/ train station. Nice bar in hotel with outdoor area. Staff excellent. Kilkenny is a very nice town with many excellent restaurants and bars. Castle and Smithwick's Brewery well worth a visit. Local people are very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also you enjoyed some of our best attractions in Kilkenny.

Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

A lovely hotel with lovely staff. Beautiful room . Comfy big bed. Visit was during the heat wave so room was incredibly hot. Borrowed fan from reception which helped. Lovely gluten free meal in the evening which was unfortunately spoiled by a family with 4 badly behaved children. Children are allowed in main dining room if in before 8.00. Sorry but at the price we paid for our meal this is too late.Sadly breakfast was spoiled by two fried eggs that had been under a heat lamp too long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEpsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us. I am sorry that you had some children disturbing your dining experience, I will ensure that our Restaurant Manager is made aware of your comments.
Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the future.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in May 2013. The room was spacious and clean if a little bit worn out and in need of a facelift. I found the hallways dark. My room was at the end of the hallway on the lower floor overlooking a courtyard. The fact that the window opened was a bonus. I didn't find the bed particularly comfortable. The water in the room was a nice touch.

Check-in was quick and painless and the staff were friendly enough. Breakfast was a standard Irish breakfast and was a good way to get the day started and was included with the room. I ate in the restaurant once and don't remember it being particularly memorable either way.

They had entertainment in the bar at least one night while I was there and he was very good. The walk into town takes a few minutes but I would rather have a walk than have to deal with noise all night.

All in all it was an okay stay and, given the free parking, I would probably stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, overall I think you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the décor for your room was not totally to your liking.
Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent two nights here. The hotel is very nice, staff very helpful. Lovely pool. The rooms were nice, bright and clean with good towel change etc. Breakfast was also very good, especially the vegetarian option. The only downside was dinner. Starter was good, Goats Cheese in puff pastry and Chicken Satay skewers. Then we ordered the fillet of pork in a orange sauce. Out came two pork chops in lumpy gravy. When we commented to the waiter, we were told the lumps were possibly pieces of orange! Still, I would stay again, but go into town for dinner. There are lots of good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to read your comments, our restaurant normally receives great comments and so I am surprised to read them. I will ensure that your comments are passed to our Head Chef who will investigate straight away, thank you for brining this to our attention.
Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to see us again very soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing