We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great staff, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week with three young children. The room was very nice and the staff were exceptional. This was our second stay in the hotel - our children love the kids club and the pool. This year we found that the breakfast in Hotel Kilkenny was a little disappointing when compared the their sister Hotel the Ferrycarrig where we also stayed this week. Otherwise I would give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind comments, delighted you enjoyed your time with us and its also great to hear you are sampling our sister property the Ferrycarrig. Breakfast we do a little differently in Hotel Kilkenny - with your order been taken and cooked specifically for you.
Thanks again and maybe we shall see you again before the children go back to school.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    561
    261
    102
    50
See reviews for
386
838
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we've have stayed here in the last year, came back for return visit as the place left such a lasting impression1st, loved the seating area & garden outside & felt the reception space to be so relaxed. Again really enjoyed our stay here. Hotel was busy but not overally that you were waiting too long for any service. Music in the bar at night was an added bonus. Hotel is a short distance away from town, few mins drive which isnt too costly in a taxi. Alot of families staying when we were here, which adds a nice atmosphere to the place. If i had any negativies, it's that would've have loved to be checked in & get settled in room earlier than 4pm to get the most out of a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizzlerfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the live music in Pure Bar is proving to be very popular and with this great weather we have moved it to our outdoor patio area and people are enjoying the great weather and great music all at the same time !
Thanks again for your review.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived after driving from Dublin about 2.15pm. On arrival at the hotel we were told the check-in time was 4pm and we would not be able to access the room as it was being cleaned. After killing time in the town (which is only a 10 minute walk away, fine if you know it as we did, but probably slightly confusing for anyone new to the town), we returned at 3.30pm. The same receptionist then told us the room still wasn't ready. We weren't given the key to our room until the 4pm deadline exactly, which seemed more than a little inflexible.

The double room we were in had a nice view, but the room looked quite dated and the iron was well overdue an update. It was clean and providing water in the rooms daily was a nice touch.

The grouds of the hotel were nice and although we didn't eat or drink there, the bars & restaurant looked quite busy.

The included breakfast was a winner and worth booking with your room.

Room Tip: Our room was on the left hand side of reception (right when you enter through the main doors) and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccakins587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I am very sorry about the delay in getting your room ready. As you can imagine with 138 bedrooms its very hard to ensure that all rooms are cleaned and ready for check-in prior to 4pm. Unfortunately due to some guests specific room requirements this means that we are unable to move guests around. The guideline of 4pm is just that and its when we promise that your room will be ready. A lot of the time we either room move our guests, or ask our accommodation team to fast track a room however sometimes this is just not possible.
I am sorry you had to wait until 4pm. However I am glad that you enjoyed the remainder of your time with us.

Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

here is a lovely modern designed hotel , staying here on a quiet Sunday no complimentary upgrade given usually they are if its quiet but non the less we got a lovely room for a great price through booking.com..... we new the distance from the city so that was fine with us and its so quiet and relaxing where its situated.


the food at the restaurant awful , the menu to read sounded beautiful but no nothing was as what you would think it would be from starter to dessert all 3 course was awful ....baileys and vanilla gateaux was actually just ice cream not even a cake or cheese cake and was rank .....the service however was good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mooner-pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
As you can imagine I am very shocked to read your review, the food in our Restaurant has always received great reviews. I am very sorry that this time you didn't feel it was to your liking.
I am however pleased to hear about the standard of service you received.
My apologies again however thank you for brining this to my attention. I will ensure that it is checked out straight away.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hi,

Signed up to the website to specifically write a review on this hotel. Myself and 15 other people stayed in Hotel Kilkenny at the end of May. I had made the reservation in Feb and the reservations team (Michelle) was extremely helpful. Made my life alot easier trying to organise everyone. The hotel also opened the restaurant 30mins earlier for us on the Saturday night so we could get into town for Champions League final.

The service from the minute we arrived was excellent, check-in was a breeze, all the staff were very helpful and just genuinely nice, friendly people. The gym and leisure centre is very nice and the rooms were nice and warm and everything we needed was there. The hotel bar was also very nice. Breakfast was excellent and quick, and the weekend we were there it was extremely busy. Located literally 10min walk from Kilkenny city centre or a 6eur taxi.

All in all, i will definitely stay in this hotel again, great value and great service. Will not be disappointed. Well Done and Thanks to Hotel Kilkenny.

Room Tip: Check in that small bit earlier and enjoy some time in the leisure centre. You deserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear your group enjoyed their stay with us. I will ensure that Michelle also gets a copy of your review.
Thanks again and hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again soon.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel was fine, the decor was a bit tacky I thought, going for a modern style (pinks, silver, cheap chandeliers etc etc) but was overdone. Stayed in a triple room which was nice and spacious. No tea/coffee making facilities but provided water instead. It was very hot and stuffy in the room during the night and in the morning despite having the window open throughout the stay. Not a great selection for breakfast I thought for a four star, I got the fry - no effort on presentation and could have been tastier. Basic would be the best way to describe it. The staff were all nice and polite. The location wasnt ideal- a taxi ride away from town so wasnt very convenient for popping into town during the day for a look at the shops and then heading out at night. That was our own fault for not researching it better though I suppose but just as a warning to others!! River court hotel might be more suitable for people who want to be in the centre of things!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maeve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments, I am sorry that you felt we were not exactly what you were looking for in terms of a break away. While we are a little outside the city center we do feel that this helps with regard to the levels of noise etc...
Tea-Coffee making facilities are available in all rooms - so I am surprised that you didn't notice them. With regards to the heat - this as you can appreciate is not something I have any control over and while we don't have air conditioning available in the hotel we do have a number of fans that are available for guest use.
Feedback is very important to us and I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the Team.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel was great for us with the baby. It was just 5mins drive from everything but away from the hustle. The staff were really friendly & got us everything we needed from a bottle warmer to offering us a travel cot.
We brought our daughter swimming, the pool was lovely. It was empty when we got there & very relaxed.
The hotel itself was bright and spacious. We felt relaxed here considering the stress of the first holiday.
Would most definitely recommend here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selinab_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We really appreciate your kind comments and hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again for another great family holiday.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing