We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Thanks for a great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights to celebrate my sons christening. The hotel is lovely and the staff are so friendly and cannot do enough to help. The rooms are spacious, there was plenty of space for the portacot. The pool was great and all the kids loved it. The food was really good too and affordable. They made our stay and our sons christening celebration so easy for us. We will definitely be returning to Hotel Kilkenny for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Fiona,
Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, I am delighted you enjoyed your time back in Ireland.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    564
    261
    101
    51
See reviews for
390
853
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for one night bed and breakfast.,Staff friendly as we got there about an hour early but they had our room ready which was brilliant. The room we had was located on the floor below reception we had a nice garden view, We decided to book a meal in the restaurant, we had a lovely three course meal and was served by laura she was very friendly. The pool and changing rooms very clean. The hotel is in a great location just outside the city about a 10-15 min walk it was handy as you didn't have to find somewhere to park. would definately recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70beckyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I will ensure that Laura also receives a copy.
Thanks again and kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Bought the midweek deal from Hotel Kilkenny's website for 2 nights with breakfast and dinner one night for two people and really enjoyed our stay! Great value, lovely trendy hotel and fantastic service. I kept thinking how clean everything was and was very comfortable in our room. The dinner we had included three courses, which i was surprised about.. i thought it would only be a main course. The food was delicious with very generous portions! Also amazing location close to the city centre.. about a 10 minute walk or a few minutes drive in. Was happy with everything at Hotel Kilkenny and would happily stay there again for a little getaway :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahYazigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and maybe we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent hotel! Close to city center,clean and comfortable updated room,and most of all friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was filled to capacity when we arrived, but they were gracious and went out of there way to make us feel at home. Just a short pleasant walk to the shops and many sites of interest. An excellent place to stay in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frannie1449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to see you enjoyed Irish hospatility at its very best. I am glad you had an enjoyable time with us and maybe if you come back to Ireland again we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Hotel Kilkenny.
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for our first night of our honeymoon in Ireland. First impression of the hotel was very good. The outside was beautiful along with the lobby, our room however was nothing worth mentioning. Small room and small bathroom compared to the normal Marriotts we stay at in the USA. No air conditioning which was a huge black mark, but as I soon found out, this was common in Ireland as this was our first trip. The service was very good and everyone was very friendly. Overall I would recommend this hotel for it's service and location, along with price. If you want a hotel similar to what you may be used to in the US however, I might avoid it.Swing by The Field Pub if you do stay, only a short walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan if it is warm as the rooms heat up and there is no AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly congratulations on your wedding, I can see you were overall very happy with your stay. I am very sorry but unfortunately we don't always have the great weather here in Ireland that would need an Air conditioning unit ! We do have fans as you pointed out and are delighted to supply one at a moments notice.
Thanks for your comments and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in Ireland
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Really nice hotel stayed there in May with my daughters. A bit of a walk into the city, but with the hustle and bustle of the city it's nice to come back to some peace. The staff were so helpful and friendly. A special thanks to the reception staff whom organised a dentist for my daughter on the Saturday morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJ060660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your great comments about your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time here in Hotel Kilkenny. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to see us again very soon
Kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Loved the Hotel, interior was beautiful and very very friendly staff. Room was lovely too. Food in bar was gorgeous and breakfast was spot on as well. Went the gym and was also impressed. Loved the facials in the Orchard Spa, girls there are lovely and my Mam had a gorgeous massage too. Highly reccommend. Hotel is short distance from town in taxi, less then 8 mins but perfect if you dont want to be caught up in too much in the hustle and bustle. Will defo stay again and visit the Spa.

Room Tip: Choose a delux room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted you and your Mum had a great time with us. The Orchard Salon & Day Spa is only a new addition to the Team here and so we are delighted to have them featured on TripAdvisor so soon .... and in such a positive light. Thank you and I will also make sure the girls in the Spa get a copy of your review.
Thanks again & kind regards
Alva Kenny
Front Office Manager
_________________________________________________________________________
We employ a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing