We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas Holiday in Kilkenny”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh on Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Christmas Holiday in Kilkenny”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were looking forward to a grand family reunion in Kilkenny this Christmas, travelling far and wide to come together. As I have suffered some health problems this year and am in my 'senior years' - plus pressure on bed space - decided to try this hotel again, as stayed once before. This allowed for a quiet retreat at the end of the day, and a warm and comfortable space wherein it was possible to recoup energy levels in readiness for the next day of festivities.
From the moment of arrival I was greeted with a warm welcome, and throughout my stay the staff of the hotel were so helpful, smiley and responsive to my requests, indeed one could not fault them! There were a couple of small matters which required some adjustment, but these were quickly attended to without demur. The room was lovely, large and bright, although I would suggest some adjustment to the heating timer which went off somewhat early. I was however provided with a small heater to use should I need it, which again reflects the helpful attitude of staff at the hotel. Given that this was a holiday period, and seemed to be high occupation, there was no problem at all with noise, which allowed for restful slumbers! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
Christmas is a very special time of year and we are delighted that you had such a great time with us over this Festive Period.
All the team at Hotel Kilkenny would like to wish you the very best for 2012 and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    598
    278
    107
    54
See reviews for
427
908
52
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

we enjoyed our stay in this hotel, reception staff friendly and informative. Rooms spacious and clean. Hotel ten minutes walk from city, which we enjoyed the walk. Breakfast very nice, and service excellent. Will definately would recommend and we will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fergal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments, we are delighted to see you had an enjoyable stay with us and everyone at Hotel Kilkenny looks forward to welcoming you back again very soon
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. Didn't get a chance to sleep in due to noise coming in every direction - floor above and the corridors. Could hear doors banging and full conversations from within the room.
Had lunch the next day which was disappointing. Some of my party did not touch their food. Staff member didn't comment when food was not eaten which I found unusual. I brought it to her attention when I paid the bill but failed to act my feedback. Despite this I had breakfast at the hotel which was very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, customer service is of paramount importance to us and my apologies that your comments to our server were not acted upon. We are the FIRST hotel in Ireland (indeed the world) to have a new and dynamic instant text messaging service available - "Instant Opinion" gives our customers direct contact with the Manager on Duty this service we believe ensures that all our Guests comments are dealt with professionally and quickly.
With regards to the doors banging on the corridors unfortunately we are directed by Fire Regulations to ensure that our doors meet the required standards and for this to happen we have to ensure that they close with or without the assistance of a guest. This sometimes leads to guests banging the doors and while we place notices on every corridor some guests are not considerate of other guests needs. My apologies for the inconvenience however we will not compromise on our Guests Health & Safety.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
____________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Just back from a fab stay at Hotel Kilkenny, lovely staff, food and service. Beautiful rooms very spacious. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
________________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We booked online and got a fab rate of B&B of €99 for both of us on a Sunday night, which included an upgrade to a superior room, which being very honest we would have happily paid for! Our room was huge, the bathroom was bigger than our small bedroom !!!!!

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
Its great to hear positive feedback from you with regards to our Deluxe Rooms.
On select dates we have great special offers available both on line and directly from the Hotel should you call. I am delighted you had a great stay and hopefully we shall welcome you back to see us again very soon
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.

Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Our belief is that “excellence always sells”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed in the hotel Kilkenny for 2 nights recently and was very disappointed. The rooms are very poorly sound insulated and could hear every door bang on our floor. The hotel did agree to relocate us on the second night of our stay but again the same problem arose. We ate from the bar menu and unfortunately the food was bland. In the hotels favour, the staff were quite friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry90_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments about the Team here at Hotel Kilkenny. Customer Service is of the utmost importance to us and something we try to excel at daily.
Unfortunately Fire Regulations instruct us to ensure that all doors close efficiently in all out Guest Rooms and so I can only apologise for the noise levels from other guests in the Hotel. You also mentioned that you were moved on your second night however this didn't fix your problem again my apologies, we do have notices on all corridors to ask our guests to keep the noise levels down however during your visit our other guests must not have taken this into account.
With regards to the Bar Food being bland - we get very positive feedback on a daily basis with regards to our menu so are very surprised at this comment. We have Instant Opinion available in our Bar and Restaurant which gives you direct access to our Duty Managers and we also have a Supervisor and Manager available daily throughout the hotel should you have commented on the food they would have instantly changed your dish.
Again many thanks for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Kilkenny in the future.
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.

Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Our belief is that “excellence always sells”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Went to Kilkenny yesterday to stay overnight in Hotel Kilkenny. We arrived there at 1.45 to be told the room would not be ready until 4pm (far to late , if you were going to a wedding and hoping to change your clothes there) we went into town but never got a phone call when the room was ready as promised so it was 5.45 when we got the key. They never gave us breakfast time or entertainment information ,as we were looking for live music, which they had but we didnt know that until we came back to the hotel at midnight. The room was beautiful, very spacious clean and well equipped even though the shower does not work. Breakfast was lovely. Overall it is a lovely hotel but the reception should be more fortcoming with information and management should look into having rooms ready earlier as we had to walk around in the rain putting in the time. Lovely location as Kilkenny city is very noisey at night time.

Room Tip: Room at rear of hotel very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seater79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments, unfortunately check in time for the hotel is 4pm this is the time we guarantee our rooms will be available. Prior to this time we give people the option of using our Leisure Club to change in should they need to do so. However a lot of our guests requesting an early arrival are asked to either reserve their rooms from the previous night or we also ask them their estimated time of arrival and we prioritise their rooms with our Accommodation team.
The standard practice is that we call guests when their rooms become available however I can see in your case this didn't happen and for this I can only apologise this is not the norm at Hotel Kilkenny.
All information with regards to Breakfast times and Music etc.... should also be given to you at check-in both verbally and in a notice that is given to all guests with their keys, again if this was not the case for you I am very sorry.
Should you like to discuss your comments in more detail please email us at experience@hotelkilkenny.ie and I will be happy to discuss your experience in more detail.
Again thank you for your time
Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.

Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.

Our belief is that “excellence always sells”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing