We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very pleased with the hotel. Our family room was perfectly comfortable, and the kids enjoyed swapping between the single bed send the camp bed that was provided.
We only ate in the bar, and while it wasn't particularly exciting it was great for feeding the kids and they accommodated our youngest's dietary requirements without any problem. My only gripe would be that they were slightly slow one night but the hotel was very busy.
The kids loved the kids club and particularly enjoyed the pool, as did I.

We will certainly come back for another family break there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hoop66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Hoop66,

Many thanks for your very kind review and I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    487
    209
    84
    40
See reviews for
401
581
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place was perfect. A bit hard to find since it was located in an alley/street way off of the main road that goes through the town. Made the wrong turn a couple of times, but managed to find the back street to get to the front of the hotel. Then again, as an American driving on the "wrong" side of the road, navigating through the narrow road ways of Ireland is awkwardly difficult.

The check-in was quick and easy, no fuss. There is a parking garage available to park in across cobblestone street from the front entrance. The rooms are cozy, modernly furnished, and bathroom is a bit compact. We had a room on the second floor with a slight view of Kilkenny Castle. The hotel in general is very clean and is in a great location where it's walking distance to the town attractions and places to eat.

There is Wi-Fi available for keeping up with your social connections and/or uploading those precious photos taken from your day excursions. This place does not have any air conditioning which normally isn't needed, however we happen to be visiting during a rare heat wave. It was hot and super humid! The staff tried to alleviate the situation by providing oscillating fans to the guests. Needless to say it didn't help much because the humidity was too much but I can't give a bad review just because of the weather.

This place isn't rated high on the list for nothing and I would recommend this place to anyone who is thinking of adding Kilkenny to their travel itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at_chexrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear at_chexrox,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful City and I hope to welcome you back to Kilkenny again soon.

Kind Regards,


Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

no accessible rooms in this hotel and the accessible toilet in reception is too small needs to be double this size for a powerded wheelchair to fit inside.
there are no walk in showers in the rooms. there is no hotel car park.
.

Helpful?
1 Thank honda750tom
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear honda750tom,

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel, however, it is unclear whether you stayed with us or simply made an enquiry.

All of our facilities are wheelchair friendly and we have a car park directly adjacent to the Hotel with 10 spaces for those with disability.

If you would like to contact me directly I would be delighted to speak with you in person, should you wish.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
t: 056 7750200
e: colin@kilkennyormonde.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had two great nights with the family recently. The staff couldnt have been nicer or more helpful. The kids club was excellent with a wonderful girl called Maria in charge. The bar food was just ok. Breakfast very good. Hotel central so everywhere within walking distance. Leisure centre great for the kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dearbhla1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Dearbhla1954,

I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us in Kilkenny and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you to our Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very nice hotel but maybe not quite a 4 star. Hotel was very clean and staff friendly. Breakfast was good with a good selection on offer. Dinner was excellent - good selection on the menu and the food was very tasty! Hotel is in a great location within walking distance to town centre, castle etc. I would definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaggyAnn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear RaggyAnn80,

Thank you for your recent review. I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, in general and that you would return again in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just had my daughters wedding in this hotel couldnt have asked for better service or food nothing was too much trouble for the staff in fact they went out of their way to help we stayed 3 days i would reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolbinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Lolbinions,

I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay and your daughters wedding which was hosted in the Ormonde.

Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

nice central hotel close to shops, bars and the castle. Very busy hotel . Bar area was closed when we arrived due to post wedding drinks so ate in the resturant and the food was nice. Resturant staff were very friendly . Had a room at the back of the hotel as i belive the front of the hotel can be noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear csantry,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your review and i hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing