We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel on a girlie getaway package. The hotel has a great location close to all the shops and bars. Our room was very spacious and clean. The afternoon tea here is amust! I can honestly say that from the time we arrived in the hotel to the time we left all the staff we spoke to in either the hotel or the spa were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is great value for money and more importantly very welcoming and I hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Anne-Marie W,

Thank you for the very kind review. I'm delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us and especially the afternoon tea.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Don't mix up Ormonde Street and Ormonde Road like I did... I spend 20 minutes looking for this hotel and then I realised my mistake. This hotel's location is better than I thought! It's fantastic! Only a couple minutes from the castle and the main shopping area. Everything's just behind the corner. The lobby looked really classy, loved the atmosphere there. The room was big and the bathroom had a tube which was lovely. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear moansan,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Kilkenny. Thank you for the lovely review and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ormonde Hotel and Kilkenny again.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Having just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel I felt I had to write a review complimenting the excellent level of service and also the quality of the food provided by this hotel. Our room was spotless and extremely spacious which left us feeling very relaxed and rested after our weekend away. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had a large room which had plenty of space and could easily have accommodated a family of four/fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Caroline O,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted that you returned and enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Couple of weeks ago I stayed with my family in Ormonde Hotel for couple of days. Location is great, in the middle of the city centre. Reception was very nice, friendly.
Rooms are big enough, clean, everything what you need.
We had two diners in the restaurant which were great. Food was nothing extraordinary, but service was perfect. The guy was very attentive, had nice chat with him about wines. I am working in the hotel business as well, and it was nice to talk to a waiter who knows his product. I think his name was Michael / thank you.
I had one small issue but was dealt perfect by lady senior manager - Sinead.
You can always see her everywhere.
We will come back soon and will recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Anya1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Anya1298,

Thank you for your very Kind review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass on your kind words to Sinead and Michael.

I hope to welcome you back soon to the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Not the cleanest of hotel rooms great location but there's loads of hotels around... Staff are very nice especially reception lady and night porter but nothing special about this hotel and much better value for money around!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaikai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Kaikai5,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Whilst i'm glad that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay with us, I'm disappointed to read that your stay was not a memorable one. I have taken all your comments on board and I apologise profusely if they took from your stay in Kilkenny.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here in February for a short family break, parents and three children. Staff very helpful, rooms clean and spacious. Overall good value for money. Kids enjoyed swimming pool. Would stay there again when visiting Kilkenny.

Room Tip: We had an interconnecting room which worked out well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186621Pkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear 186621Pkaye,

I'm really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us last month and I hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a brilliant time here. Rooms were warm and nicely furnished.Excellent kids club with plenty of kids activities to keep them entertained and our kids enjoyed it. Food was really good in the bar and the breakfast was very nice. Lot of choice incl hot buffet.
Great hotel and it is very central, right opposite the Kilkenny Castle. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monami2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinRAhern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear monami2006,

Thank you for the great review and your recommendation. I'm delighted that the children enjoyed the Kids Club and I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
800 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: $97 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing