We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, quiet, clean, helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfy, quiet, clean, helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Great locality, clean and comfortable, recommend for stay anytime, close to everything!
Family staying in two rooms, car parking was cheap but tight in public car park
Breakfast was lovely and staff very helpful

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Tim B,

Thanks for your very kind review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor. I'm really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    487
    204
    81
    40
See reviews for
394
580
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for midweek break in November 2012. Very nice hotel. Great staff, food & service. My only complaint would be that there was at least 3 TV's on in the bar showing football..not great unless you're a sports fan! Apart from that i couldn't fault this hotel. Great location, very central. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms extremely warm.. switch off radiator before going to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear CarinaDublin,

Thank yo for your very kind review of our Hotel on Tripadvisor and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay in general.

I take your point about the football in the O'Reilly's Bar and I apologise if it took from your experience in any way. I'm only surprised that it wasn't hurling on the TV!

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I Stayed her for my Christmas party. Had a great time, the staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating Very clean and spacious rooms. The hotel is perfectly located as its just off the main strip so not noisy but within falling distance to get back. Breakfast was very good although we had it in the room and it was a little later arriving the we requested, but we were in no rush so it wasn't a problem.
I would defo stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear bea m,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your Christmas Party in the Ormonde and that you would return again.

I hope to meet you personally on that occasion.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monasterevin, Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This lovely hote is in a great location. However, having the spa across the road is an inconvenience. The treatments though were quite good. You can walk anywhere in the city in a few inutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollySB813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear MollySB813,

Thank yo for your review of the Ormonde on Tripadvisor.com. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and our location.

For your information our Leisure Club and Spa is accessible via a a corridor and it is not necessary to cross the road once in the Hotel.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have been to Kilkenny about 6 times this year and this is my favourite hotel!
It is located up a side road off the main street so is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions, restaurants and nightlife.
The rooms are clean, modern and comfy. The location also means a good night sleep as its off the main strip.
The leisure centre is an added bonus, although they make you wear a swim hat. I will definately be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiFitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear VickiFitzsimons,

Wow, its not often we get someone coming to Kilkenny so regularly. I'm delighted that you enjoy our fabulous City and I hope that you will continue to use the Ormonde Hotel.

I look forward to meeting you personally on your next visit.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my friend for some fun and time out. Staff very friendly welcoming and efficient. Housekeeping very helpful. the food was lovely in the restaurant and the hotel is situated right in the heart of kilkenny with local access to everything.. see you all again soon i hope!!!!

Room Tip: We got exactly what we asked for so i've no tips for choosing a better room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Hilary G,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel and WE HOPE to welcome you back in the New Year!

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in mid-November - great location and very friendly staff. We had Dinner one evening and were very well looked after. Friendly and efficient service with a very good choice of food.

We also stayed in this hotel last year and we plan to visit again next year. Good buzz around this Hotel - rooms are very comfortable and the corridors were very quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Joe M,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and I hope to meet you personally when you visit in the New Year.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing