We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We cannot recommend the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel enough. We decided to hold our wedding reception there in October this year and although we were really looking forward to the day, it was also a very daunting prospect trying to visualise how the day would go. We were overwhelmed with all that we thought we had to organise. We needn’t have worried! From our very first meeting with our Wedding co-ordinator right up to the last meeting which was a couple of weeks prior to the wedding, we had to do very little. All our questions were answered in a very swift and professional manner and there was never a problem approaching any of the team for advice.

We were so delighted that the staff knew how we would like the day to run and felt very comfortable leaving the plans to them so that we could focus on the other details for the wedding day. When we attended the hotel for the tasting menu, we got a glimpse of what our guests would be able to enjoy and the food and service that night were second to none.

The Wedding Day arrived! We were greeted at the hotel and welcomed onto a red carpet by the General Manager and the Operations Manager who co-ordinated the day for us. We were handed champagne and strawberries and joined our guests in the bar. While we were getting our pictures taken, a pianist in the hotel lobby entertained our guests who were served beautiful canapés, cake, mulled wine and the highlight which was a chocolate fountain! We had the most fantastic day, even better than we had hoped.

It has been remarked by many of our guests that we were the most relaxed bride and groom ever and this was because all we had to do on the day was enjoy ourselves and the management and staff took care of the rest. We wanted the speeches before the meal and for the meal to be served in a timely manner so that we could really enjoy mingling with our guests. Sinead, the Operations manager was our contact who looked after the staff on the day and co-ordinated our speeches and meal. She is a credit to the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel as she appeared at the right times to let us know what was happening next and ensured that the day went exactly how we had requested.

Now that we are back from honeymoon, the main topic of conversation from all our guests is the wonderful food (it has to be tasted to be believed) and the service provided by all the staff of the hotel (and not my dress!) We have received the most wonderful compliments about the hotel and we know that we made the best decision when deciding to hold our wedding there. The accommodation was also beautiful with special touches not only in the bridal suite but also in our guests rooms. We would recommend the hotel in a heartbeat.

The motto of the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel is ‘Anticipating your needs and aspiring to exceed them’. Without doubt, the Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel exceeded every single one of our needs and went over and above what we had expected of them.

Deirdre and Ger O'Sullivan

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Deirdre O,

We are only delighted that we played a small part in making your day a memorable one. Thank you so much for your very kind comments and we really look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed on Sunday night, arrived about 7pm. Hotel was quiet and had little atmosphere, but it was a wet and windy night. Room was very pleasant and more than adequate.. Very nice!

Went down to bar, very pleasant server,. But no wifi in O'Reilly.. So moved to reception.

Ordered room service.. And chilled.. Lovely nice ..

I booked it all on Booking.com for €70 including breakfast.. Good value.
Breakfast the usual precook end food.. In hot containers.. But server was excellent, and ordered poached eggs,..which where great.

For me.. Very good .. Perfect business hotel.. Spa looked amazing and great value..

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Dianewarrenpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Dianewarrenpoint,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Ormonde. Value for money is very important in the current climate and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a 2 night break. Receptionist was so pleasant and welcoming. Upgraded us because it was out anniversary, to a beautiful suit. Room was spotless and breakfast to room was excellent. Staff could not have been more friendly and attentive. Dinner in the restaurant was superb. Lots to do while there like visiting their beautiful Castle and doing a tour of Smithwick’s Brewery. Overall a really lovely hotel right in the centre of the city and I would most definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauralou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Lauralou18,

I'm really glad that you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay and got to see some of the highlights this wonderful city has to offer.

We hope that you get a chance to come back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here last weekend with some female friends. Everything was perfect. The two girls on the desk were so friendly and efficient, even though they were quite busy. A tall dark haired girl and a shorter blond haired girl. Bar staff were extremely helpful. Had dinner in the Restaurant, staff again super and the food really good. Had crab to start, hake for mains and really good vegetables and potatoes. Excellent value. Breakfast again really tasty, very busy on a Sunday morning, had to wait on a table but did not matter at all. There was no rushing us out of the dining room either after breakfast which was really nice. Had coffees in the lobby which were served with some lemon type of madeira cake. A really relaxing hotel, no pompous presumptions. Bumped into the manager on the Saturday who was around meeting and greeting guests in a nice understated way, I think his name was Colin. Kilkenny is a really lovely city. The hotel is located in the heart of the city which is a major bonus. Bed really comfy. A great stay. Thank you all in the Ormonde. Have stayed before, and shall most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiflowerpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear hiflowerpot,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel and I hope to meet you again on your next visit.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent 2 nights here with my wife and 2 year old daughter. Upgraded to the family room (which was a perfect size for the little one to run about!). There is a lovely feel about this hotel and staff cannot do enough for you. Nothing was too much trouble.We had breakfast and dinner one night (delivered to our room) which was really nice. Location is perfect- right in the centre of the city but just far enough away so that its quiet. Pool is great and has smaller kids pool and gym.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear glenio,

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, our location, food and leisure club.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a lovely one night stay will be goin back soon for a longer one next time, brill
Location...Away from all the noise but not to far, only walking distance, great for a girlie weekend ........
GER from Dublin

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giganzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Giganzy,

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and I hope you get a chance to come back soon. Thank you for the review.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found the hotel spotless, the staff very helpful and the breakfeast had everything you could want. The staff in all sections were very helpful and plesant and couldnt have been more helpful. I would strongly recommend the hotel for a break away it was just what we needed and right in the middle of the city for acess to everything.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinahern, General Manager at Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear helen M,

Many thanks for your very kind review of our Hotel. I appreciate your comments and I am delighted that you would recommend us.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours in Service,

Colin Ahern
General Manager
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,034 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel

Address: Ormonde Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: $89 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In heart of Kilkenny; stands proudly in the shadows of Kilkenny Castle; beautiful rooms designed/decorated to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing