We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Trattoria

La Trattoria
Ranked #72 of 216 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lucan, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We dined here in a Saturday night and while it wasn't very busy, the food and service were top notch.
We both had bruschetta to start, with Peroni beer, and they were delicious and tasty. Plenty of tomatoes and dressing. The beer was excellent and we got a bonus half pint, as the keg ran out while pouring the 2nd pint.
I had meatballs & spaghetti and my wife had penne chicken.
The two dishes were excellent; fresh,tasty and filling.
I would definitely return here again and can't recommend it highly enough.

Helpful?
Thank LucanBohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    41
    22
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited la trattoria based on the positive reviews on trip advisor ,service a bit mixed with the staff under pressure and almost sprinting from table to table,the server was really friendly and they where busy ,we had starters and pizzas for main course ,would really like to says was good but sadly nothing special,bit disappointed and they had run out of cannelloni by seven on a Friday night so doubted any of the pasta meals would be freshly made .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank bagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Saturday evening treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We called in this evening 2 adults 4 kids aged 9 to 4, we were seated and order taken within minutes, garlic breads for starters and 4 main courses to share, the food was excellent and staff were helpful with spare bowls and plates as we divided our dishes. Great value and pastas were so fresh and tasty. It's our third time there and won't be our last.

Helpful?
1 Thank nigelkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromod, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great food - although tables a little close. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, bad experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We walked in on a Sunday around 5PM.. needless to say, there were very few people in the restaurant. We were seated by a window and promptly noticed that there were bugs--flies, spiders, other tiny insects--buzzing around, as well as dust in the sills and on the neon sign in the corner. There was one other couple in the room. We were pretty grossed out, so got up and moved to a four-top in the corner. Just as we sat down, a woman (the hostess? Manager? It was unclear) walked in and, from across the room, barked at us to move because she "didn't have that many four-top tables in the restaurant." It was completely unpleasant, not to mention the fact that there was literally no four-person party that entered the restaurant in the time we were eating there (and only one other two-person party).

At least the food was tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhoward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing