We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good.”
Review of La Trattoria

La Trattoria
Ranked #77 of 227 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I have been going to La Trattoria for a couple of years and the food is fantastic every time. The spaghetti with sausage in tomato sauce is my favourite dish, anywhere, and is perfect time after time. Johnny will always take time to say hello and have a chat too, which is nice when friends from out of town are visiting!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    43
    23
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Kilkenny if not outside of Italy”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was taken here by my friend Eimear & Fintan & I loved it!
Very friendly & served by the owner & chef too.

We had garlic bread like no other I have ever tasted & had Meat Balls with Spaghetti, which was superb & a lovely bottle of red wine.

The attention to detail was second to none!

Been to Italy quite a few times & you would have thought you were dining in the Best Italian restaurant money can buy beats all of these fancy named celebrity Chefs hands down, don't bother with them , visit La Trattoria instead!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stevie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food ,wine and service.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were on John St in search of an early family dinner and were drawn to La Trattoria by the value of the early bird menu at just under fourteen euro. We enjoyed our two early birds and the pizza was deemed, rightly , to be top class with a beautiful thin crust. Wine of the month was very drinkable and excellent value too.Coffees were also top class. Service by the owner was helpful and warm and we had a lovely three course Italian evening dinner with wine/coffees for at less than sixty euro for two adults and a child .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topcattEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have been to this lovely authentic Italian many times now, three times last week!
The food is great, very reasonable prices. and very child friendly.The owner/chef is a really friendly guy, very happy to talk about a subject dear to his heart, food !!
He also has a great range of Italian wines, would recommend an excellent Gavi di Gavi.
Next time I'm in Kilkenny, I will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendo542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food in Ireland”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a nice change of taste after dining in so many pubs and Irish eateries. It made for a nice evening dinner for my husband and I, along with another couple.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank VT2FLkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing