We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Restaurant in Kilkenny if not outside of Italy”
Review of La Trattoria

La Trattoria
Ranked #87 of 219 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Kilkenny if not outside of Italy”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was taken here by my friend Eimear & Fintan & I loved it!
Very friendly & served by the owner & chef too.

We had garlic bread like no other I have ever tasted & had Meat Balls with Spaghetti, which was superb & a lovely bottle of red wine.

The attention to detail was second to none!

Been to Italy quite a few times & you would have thought you were dining in the Best Italian restaurant money can buy beats all of these fancy named celebrity Chefs hands down, don't bother with them , visit La Trattoria instead!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stevie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    42
    22
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food ,wine and service.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were on John St in search of an early family dinner and were drawn to La Trattoria by the value of the early bird menu at just under fourteen euro. We enjoyed our two early birds and the pizza was deemed, rightly , to be top class with a beautiful thin crust. Wine of the month was very drinkable and excellent value too.Coffees were also top class. Service by the owner was helpful and warm and we had a lovely three course Italian evening dinner with wine/coffees for at less than sixty euro for two adults and a child .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topcattEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have been to this lovely authentic Italian many times now, three times last week!
The food is great, very reasonable prices. and very child friendly.The owner/chef is a really friendly guy, very happy to talk about a subject dear to his heart, food !!
He also has a great range of Italian wines, would recommend an excellent Gavi di Gavi.
Next time I'm in Kilkenny, I will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendo542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food in Ireland”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a nice change of taste after dining in so many pubs and Irish eateries. It made for a nice evening dinner for my husband and I, along with another couple.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank VT2FLkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food...”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have had lunch and dinner at this restaurant. The food has never disappointed. Top quality ingredients are always used. The presentation of every plate is delightful. Good value for really high class meals. It is a lovely venue for special occasions. Staff are always attentive, helpful and friendly. Overall a very good experience. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing