We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ate here as part of a package with the Rivercourt”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Yindees Downtown

Yindees Downtown
Ranked #34 of 217 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Yindees Downtown brings you a unique blend of authentic Thai and Malayasian dishes in a modern intimate setting. Yindees Downtown Restaurant boasts a superb location right in the heart of the city. We are proud to have served the people of Kilkenny and our wonderful visitors for over 3 years. The stylish Cocktail Bar at Yindees Downtown Restaurant is perfect for a quiet drink with soothing atmosphere. If you want to enjoy a taste of Yindees Downtown Restaurant at home, we offer a convenient delivery or collection service.
Dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ate here as part of a package with the Rivercourt”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Very little choice on the menu. Would be better if they gave you the full menu & charged a supplement. Food was ok.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WilsonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    40
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Went to this restaurant with my wife on Saturday February 11th. We had purchased a Lyrath Gift Card and were told quite clearly that we could use this in their sister restaurant Yindees Downtown. When booking Yindees, just in case, we re-asked, to be certain, to be told that, yes, the Lyrath Card was accepted. After dinner the lady at reception refused to accept the card. Her Manager, when called, said, "yes, we often get this - we do not accept them". What a joke!! Also, asked for bottled still water and received tap water from a large jug. Reordered Bottled water - never arrived. Had to ask the waiter twice to light the candle (all the other tables had their candles lighting) What a disappointing night.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Asian Restaurant in Kilkenny bar none”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had a beautiful meal here recently with my wife. Its not often a place ticks all the boxes but Yindees downtown exceeded all my expectations.
The food was perfect, each course was well presented an delicious. The mains were a particular highlights, I had a beautiful crispy duck dish while my wifes Masaman curry dish was perfect.
The highlight of the evening was the excellent level of service experienced. We were served promptly and efficiently & our waitress was one of the best I have seen. It is a level of service that many more expensive restaurants would do well to match. Also, they validate your parking at the Rivercourt carpark, giving you three hours free parking to enjoy the city centre...
I will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Authentic Thai restaurant. Food was excellent as was the service and surroundings. A little pricey but the food is worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvToTravelAndEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The food was amazing, as was the service and the decor of the restaurant. Nice prices aswell. Go there and you will enjoy it i assure you

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andyst2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yindees Downtown also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Yindees Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing