We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swans Chinese Restaurant

Swans Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 216 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.kilkennycityonline.com/bus_ad.asp?BUSID=655&CATID=25&SID=82 http://www.ireland-guide.com/establishment/swans_chinese.5379.html
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This restaurant is so convenient to all visitors as it is located in the heart of Kilkenny. They run a very good buffet at lunchtime and the evening menu is very comprehensive. The service is very good and food is very satisfying with good sized portions too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    15
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

this is a lovely little chinese restaurant in kilkenny and its reasonable priced, i had a chicken curry and my sister had beef in black bean sauce. it was all very nice and the portions sizes were big. i would go back here again if i was visiting kilkenny.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank countrygirlWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

been here a few time and alway get a great meal. everything is lovely on the menue. service is good too. Nice athmosphire. Great price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Budlitelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

15 of us had Sunday lunch here, a good, varied buffet (although the vegetarians needed to order from the kitchen, as there were few vegetarian options). The staff was helpful, it was family-friendly, and they permitted us to stay for nearly 4 hours visiting. I don't typically visit Chinese restaurants in Ireland, but this was quite tasty and good for our big party.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank revjcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Found the staff unfriendly and unattentive, had to wait ages for the menus, for order to be taken, for the food to be served, had to actually waive a waitress over to clear away our starters, several times a staff member walked passed us and did not pick up our empty plates, despite it being early evening and having only 3 other tables to serve. I found the food very expensive for a chinese restaurant, and did not find the quality of the food up to scratch at all, I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. I have given this restaurant 3 chances over the last year or so and that will be my last time there. Also very annoying, they had two songs playing on loop the whole time we were there, no staff seemed to notice they were listening to the same songs over and over again, payment was made at the till without a smile or a thank you, very indifferent attitute to customers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank p c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swans Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Swans Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing