We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle-of-the-Road”
Review of Launard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Launard House
Ranked #48 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Middle-of-the-Road”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

First off it wasn't the easiest place to locate as there are 2 roads with similar lanes. Although Sharon pointed out to us that they had the name Maiden Hill first before the other road was built. The en-suite room was clean and comfortable. When we arrived neither Sharon nor Graham was around to greet us. We were let in by their assistant. After settling down she gave us brief directions to the town centre. Location wise it's not too bad. About a good 15 minute walk will bring you into town.

Walking back late was a bit tricky as there were no street lamps in certain parts due to road construction. You'll need a torch...or the handy mobile phone to illuminate the way.

We have been touring Ireland on motorcycles for 2 weeks and this was our last B & B before we arrive in Dublin. In a way it was quite disappointing as it isn't one of the best B & B's we have experienced along our journey. Breakfast was prepared by Sharon....unfortunately nothing to shout about.
I am doubtful if we would stay here again if we happen to stop in Kilkenny but stranger things has happened!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first weekend in August. Place was easy to find and the rooms were perfect. Just walking distance from the main town area. Owners were full of info on where to go and what to do. Had a lovely weekend and the breakfast was brill. Kept us going most of the day. Would recommend to all. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Though the location of this B and B is convenient for the city centre (my travelling companions and I like to walk), it was disappointing. Graham is friendly and responsible for the good porridge at breakfast but my husband and I were given a room at the back of the house which overlooked a back courtyard used for hanging washing. The glass was frosted but.........

Another issue was there was no hot water for a shower on our second morning. One of our party went to discuss this with the owner but no one answered the door when he knocked. Add to this a garden with plant pots where all the plants are dead and the overall impression is that the tiny details are not being taken care of.

Room Tip: Don't get the room at the back on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Graham and Sharon at the Launard House... it is a beautiful B&B. We preferred to stay away from the center of the small cities we visited - and this was perfect. A bit challenging to find, so call Graham or Sharon for directions as there are 2 roads with the same name.. Graham was very helpful with directions! We loved Kilkenny and wish we had spent an extra day there. Kilkenny has large music festivals also, so if you want the quiet town we experienced, check the schedule. Graham and Sharon helped us taxis...a great breakfast - and directions!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

First off I have to say this was a vacation saver for us. After having a terrible experience in paris with our hotel, british airways delayed our flight which made us late on our connection flight which ended being canceled. Needless to say we arrived late nearly midnight very upset. We were met with open arms and they accomodated us just as if we had arrived at 2pm. They took our breakfast order and we went to bed. Upon waking we were served with the full irish breakfast(my choice which was awesome!) and great service. The shower was great, the rooms were kept at the perfect temps and the beds were very comfortable and very clean. The b&b is right near the downtown area so it is a great location to see Kilkenny, very accommodating, and just overall a very good experience. The staff allowed u to have the place for yourself as if it were yours. The next time im in Ireland I will be staying here!! Bravo!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnuffs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Place was a little difficult to find given everywhere in the vicinity is called Maiden Hill! However I called for directions and found our way no problem. Owner is a nice, friendly man. Gave us recommendations on where to eat in town and offered to arrange taxis for us. Place was clean and nicely presented but a couple of things that disappointed.

Towels in the bed-room. There were only two towels (two of staying) and the towels can only be described as large hand towels!! Not sufficient for showering. In my experience B&Bs always supply towels.

The breakfast was a little disappointing. "Full Irish" was two bacon, two sausage, slice of tomato and an egg. I had a poached egg which was not cooked properly. However the girl serving did ask me if it was cooked ok so I was given an opportunity to send it back but decided not to. So service was good but just a little on the disappointing side.

However, I don't think it would put me off staying here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brideenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first B&B on our whirlwind tour of Ireland. We had a little trouble finding the place due to the fact that the GPS actually points to Maiden Hill Estates and not Maiden Hill. But it's in the same vicinity and we found our way without further trouble.

We were greeted warmly and immediately shown to our room, even though we were a few minutes early. We got settled in and then made our choices for breakfast before heading to town for the evening.

As others have said, it's too far to walk but it's a very short drive and we had no problem finding our way back, even in the dark.

Graham made us a wonderful breakfast and we had a delightful chat.

Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#14 of 72 in Kilkenny
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#11 of 72 in Kilkenny
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 72 in Kilkenny
280 reviews
11.2 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launard House

Property: Launard House
Address: 2 Maiden Hill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Launard House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Launard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing