We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly and Helpful Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Launard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Launard House
Ranked #51 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Helpful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Hosts we so helpful with directions and suggestions. Rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was great, especially Graham's pudding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ral210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed for two nights whilst touring Ireland. Graham was a friendly and helpful host, the room and bed were clean and the breakfast good. However, our room had frosted glass windows so that we would not see the dog kennels and back yard which was littered with dog faeces. The dogs barked if we tried to open the window and there was a smell so we couldn't get any fresh air. The garden was run down and had more weeds than flowers, the hanging baskets were dead and the outside table had an ashtray which remained full of cigarette ends.

Room Tip: Don't use the Go Ireland site to book B&Bs in Ireland unless you want to pay 25 euros for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jill_strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Lovely home with comfortable rooms in a convenient location near the town of Kilkenny. Graham was a wonderful host with a dry sense of humor and a willingness to share information on the area.. The Bed and Breakfast is efficiently managed and environmentally equipped for conservation of resources.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstandena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC area
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We recommend this lovely B and B for any visit to Kilkenny. The location is very good, the hosts are very helpful and their little boy is an adorable greeter. The place is very nicely decorated and absolutely spotless. They don't allow drinks or food in the room, but the dining room can be used to make coffe, tea and for snacks. The breakfasts were very good and we felt well taken care of during our two day stay. I have stayed at other B and Bs in the area and this one was defintely way better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mustlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Graham and his wife who own this wonderful B&B were just wonderful, well humored, knowledgeable of the area, and helpful to my sister and I in every way! The rooms were clean, comfortable and the breakfast served was wonderful. This is also a wondeful location. We were able to walk into town in less than 15 mins, really only a few blocks from the down town area. Very reasonable price as well.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaAnn1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were greeted by an adorable British child and waited in a very nice breakfast room until our host came downstairs. He had a map of Kilkenny with everything possible to do there and great tips to get by in the city. This was my 4th day in Ireland and I was a bit sick of pub food so we had great Chinese at the Emerald Garden. I went to the Dunmore Cave because I also had my fill of castles by this point, but had I had more time, I would have gone to the Smithwicks Brewery. The Black Abbey was beautiful. Our host runs a tight ship, great breakfast, beautiful rooms and he's very helpful. He does not allow any eating in the room so come back full!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweets786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stayed at this B&B ten years ago on my last trip to Kilkenny, Ireland. It was like visiting an old friend. The room was spacious and clean. The owners suggested I visit a local site that was not on my itinerary which added to the magic of my trip. Breakfast was terrific!! Couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelticApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#21 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
11.2 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Breagagh View
Breagagh View
#45 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
9.9 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#11 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launard House

Property: Launard House
Address: 2 Maiden Hill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Launard House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Launard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing