We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic location, mediocre food & wine”

Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #107 of 227 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the Kilkenny River Court Hotel, Kilkenny.
Canaan, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Scenic location, mediocre food & wine”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

You'll likely want to come here for the view. But be warned: There are only a few tables by the windows, and those are usually held for favored customers. If you're one of those, good for you -- but even then, the food will be a completely forgettable part of your visit. Pork belly was both fatty and tough (tough pork belly? really?). A duck starter was overcooked. The crust on a tart dessert was so mushy it must have been (over)heated in the microwave. The bread was very nice, at least. And the staff were polite. But Kilkenny has several nice restaurants, and a couple of really marvelous ones. (Try Campagne.) If you're not a VIP with a shot at one of those window tables, I don't know why you'd come here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
limerick
1 review
“Top class”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I had dinner in this restrauant last week with 2 friends, I found the staff very helpfull and friendly.The staff and kitchen were very accomdating with my dietary requirments.I would advise any one going here to pre-book as the the restaurant was quite busy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great location, great food and great service”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel and had a wonderful time. We ate breakfast both mornings and had dinner one night. On all occasions the service was wonderful and the food delicious. Would definately reccomend it and would definately go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martinamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner date”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had a dinner date with my friends few weeks ago and i must say the experience was totally amazing and wonderful. Got a 3-course meal for an affordable price and the service was excellent. All the staff were pleasant and friendly. keep up the good work guys! The view of the castle is spectacular.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“romantic dinner”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

good food, excellence service. 5 star. romantic dinner with my girlfriend.. castle view

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Restaurant also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Castlecomer, Kilkenny
 

Been to Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing