We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCourts Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McCourts Townhouse
Ranked #71 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location and Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend and it was fine...the location was fantastic right in the centre of Kilkenny. The rooms were basic but clean..i always check the bathroom and sheets..and they passed! The only negatives I have is we arrived earlier than the check in time I had emailed them and asked if we could check in early and they siad it was fine..however when we got there they didnt have our rooms ready which was quite annoying when we had been traveling for 6 hours also our shower wasn't hot my friend had to have a freezing cold shower (which probably helped with the hangover). They dont do breakfast but there are lovely cafes very close where you can get a full Irish. Overall cheap basic accommodation somewhere clean and comfortable ( beds are really comfy) to rest after sightseeing and of course partying in the fantastic Kilkenny nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irish83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    18
    5
    18
See reviews for
10
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were way too early for check in, but we could leave our luggage there, we had the opportunity to pick a room. When we were there it was really hot in Kilkenny ( 26-31 degrees ), so we preferred a room at the front of the hotel, where there was a. Nice breeze..
It is across from Matt the Millers, a busy pub in the evenings. So, don't take that kind of room unless your planning to go out as well, or take earplugs with you.

There is no breakfast service, but there are plenty options for breakfast in Kilkenny itself. Even on a Sunday, when we where there.

Room Tip: No rooms at the front when you are not in for a night lying awake. ( but beware of the Saturday nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

this was a bit of an adventure for us to find, even asking business neighbors, we had no luck..
we clocked the address, since we arrived before the 3 arrival time, and had to find someone to let us in... but we had a great nite there, comfy, clean, and we slept like babies in the beds... parking in rear, with a fee...
walking with easy access to restaurants, pubs etc.
lady in charge fun! i would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeysmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eulenbis, Germany
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

How can things get better than spending a couple of nights in Kilkenny Ireland. A very clean and comfortable hotel. Well priced with free WiFi. Rooms are very small, but that's okay, I don't want to buy it I just want to sleep there. The wonderful castle is just about a five minute walk, in fact nearly everything is about a five minute walk. Receptionist "Paul" was as nice and cordial as they come, even microwaved our leftover pizza for us. They do have off street parking for a low price. The only bad thing is finding it "LOOK FOR THE PINK DOORS & KILKENNY RIVER COURT".

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdlhgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee M, General Manager at McCourts Townhouse, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Mccourts Townhouse. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Paul is a great asset for us here, his customer service is second to none.
We have new signage ordered for the outside of the building, which should help finding us next time.
We look forward to meeting ye again next time ye visit Kilkenny.

Kind Regards
Dee McKnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed in MCourts Townhouse with 20 of my friends for My Hen party, I didn't know what to expect! All the rooms were very clean spacious. Perfect for a short city trip. Everyone was impressed. The location is excellent is right on the main street. Great value for money. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Breakfast is served in the nearby Rivercourt hotel is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This restaurant is part of Mc Courts Townhouse. Our meal was lovely. If you like Thai/Malaysian Food it's fab. The restaurant was a bit cold but the waiter did ask and us if we were cold and it did seem to warm up a bit after that. The waiter John couldn't have been nicer and was really nice to our 3 kids, they even got a party bag with a colouring book and a join the dots book with crayons to keep them occupied while we were waiting for our meal which was lovely. Overall I would definately recommend this place, it's fairly reasonably priced and the kids get a choice of main course and choice of dessert and choice of drink for €10. There's also an early bird menu available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here with friends for my birthday, we had two twin rooms for one night. My room was spacious and very clean and the beds are very comfortable, unfortunately my friends' room wasn't the same, it was right next door but it was much smaller, it was very narrow and quite dark. Being there for a girls night out we weren't worried about the noise from the street but the noise from the doors was a bit of a bother, you really had to slam the door in order for it to close which isn't great when returning at 4am trying not to wake up the whole place. One member of staff on checking in was friendly but another seemed to look down on us as we were a group of young girls checking in which I don't like. The place was clean and comfortable and was everything we needed for a one night stay. Although the townhouse advertises free wifi it wouldn't work in either of our rooms and even when we asked in reception they just told us to try again which wasn't very helpful when it still wouldn't work. It's in a great location for going out and it's great value for the center of the city. I would recommend it just don't expect the little extras!

Room Tip: We had rooms on the top floor which were quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachk133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#31 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#43 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanigans Hostel
Lanigans Hostel
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCourts Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCourts Townhouse

Property: McCourts Townhouse
Address: John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCourts Townhouse offers guests convenient, budget accommodation in Kilkenny city centre, at affordable cheap prices. McCourts is located just above Yindees Thai Restaurant overlooking the river.With just 15 unique en-suite rooms, each with a fresh decor, comfy quilts and bed linen, McCourts budget accommodation Kilkenny is perfect for a short break in Kilkenny city or a group getaway.Secure car parking is available at a small charge. There is complimentary Wi Fi available throughout McCourts and Yindees Downtown Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your McCourts Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing