We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
Ranked #40 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Kilkenny was one of my favorite stops on our 10 day journey around Ireland and The Rafter Dempseys contributed to our experience! We only stayed one night but it was great! We wondered in last minute and were immediately given a room. Breakfast was personal and delicious and location was perfect! Right in the middle of the AMAZING village. Everyone was friendly and attentive, couldnt have asked for more!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 176 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Clean room, good food, and friendly people! We really enjoyed the authentic atmosphere, and felt very welcomed. Would highly recommend to all travelers. This is a great place, and although we arrived too late for dinner, the owner and staff gave us excellent recommendations within a short walk. We were highly satisfied with all aspects of our stay. This is a good value, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay...."..................................."..........................................................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recall staying here some years ago and as far as I can remember it was quite pleasant. This time I returned for a bite to eat and I wont be returning a 3rd time. There were 2 of us and when we entered the bar there were only a small number of people there. The lady behind the bar was quite friendly and quickly took our order of supreme of chicken kiev X 2. Literally 2 minutes later she arrived back with 2 plates with chicken kiev, 3 scoops of mash, turnip and cabbage. Looked just like a pub dinner but that was kinda what we expected, we were just too hungry to search for anywhere else. Firstly I was shocked at how fast our dinner arrived, it had to have been microwaved because there was no way anything was cooked that fast. Mine was warm on the inside but cold on the outside. My boyfriends was hot but mine wasn't. It was ok, €23 euro for the 2 and it was plenty expensive for what it was. Its ok I suppose for pub grub but Ill be going somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrionaD1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in rafter dempseys for two nights In June . There was four of us staying in one room, the room was spacious and clean. It's very near the centre of Kilkenny, about a two/three minute walk. The staff are excellent , we had great fun in the pub on the Saturday night there was a good band playing and a great atmosphere. The two bar men are a credit to the bar . The manager we were dealing with was also a lovely man and if I was to go back to Kilkenny I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Avoid this place at all costs. We paid €120 a night for a twin room that was little more than a utility closet. Probably the worst and least value place I have ever stayed in Ireland. The room smelt and was very dated, I don't think it was even cleaned properly. Oh and it was like a sauna as there was no air con. The only good point was the breakfast and bar man who was there on both mornings we stayed, he was very nice and accommodating. Will never again stay here and will make a point of telling people travelling to Kilkenny to avaoid it at all costs. They should be ashamed of the prices they're charging!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just returned from a weeks stay at the b&b. we have good and bad feedback. I will start with the bad: the b&b is expensive for what you are getting. The rooms are youth hostel like, the carpet is old, the television didn't work properly, I had no hairdryer, the water took 5-10 minutes to heat up and the water pressure was so low, that it took me forever to wash my hair. The room we had was facing the front. As I say, it depends what you are looking for. So if you want to party all night and you can fall asleep to a band playing under your bed and also in the pub next door, then that us fine. You must know that you will not get much sleep here. You will hear the constant noise of the beeping signal at the traffic lights to assist the blind. But I am sure the whole area has this problem. The corridors were unbearably warm due to the washing machine and dryers located there and running a lot during our stay.
The positive about the place: great and very fast breakfast, super friendly staff and the food was good.
All over: we would go back for a good night out there but would rather stay in a place with a good shower and were you can get some sleep. I recommend to stay a bit further away from the constant bleeping noise from the main intersection at the Left Bank pub.

Room Tip: Great for Party animals. You will not get much sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIANNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed there in the beginning of August, no air conditioning and the people isn't friendly either, especially the older barman (bald guy). When asked for advice on where to park the car he simply gave us a snotty response and never greeted back whenever we greeted him.

They gave us a room that was situated between the laundry room and smoking area. So on the one side you have the sound of washing machines and on the other side the stench of smoke and people, and to top it off, the room window opens up on the smoking area. This in the middle of summer with no air conditioning! Only after we complained did they give us a street facing room, this room wasn't even cleaned properly.

After everything we experienced there, the only nice thing was breakfast. This place is surely a proper rip off. Do not stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the smoking lounge as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joemanvdw V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 19 in Kilkenny
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club House Hotel
Club House Hotel
#16 of 19 in Kilkenny
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
0.2 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 74 in Kilkenny
223 reviews
10.8 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 'Rafter' Dempsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 'Rafter' Dempsey's

Address: 4 Friary Street | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $89 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The 'Rafter' Dempsey's 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a great city centre hotel/guesthouse for anyone who wants to stay in the centre of all the shopping and nitelife attraction's that Kilkenny has to offer. A warm welcome and friendly staff await all guests, whether they want to wine or dine, or just unwind.Has won many awards for it's fantastic shopfront flower display's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The 'Rafter' Dempsey's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing