We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks for hospitality”

William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
Ranked #67 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top marks for hospitality”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The pub has been updated to draw some of the younger crowd in, but, it has not lost one bit of charm. The beer garden is particularly interesting now. Hannah (the owner), her son William, and every staff member meet and exceed the top levels of hospitality. The room that we occupied was clean and the breakfast delicious. It was a fantastic experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmuircat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Billy Byrne's is a wonderful bar in the centre of Kilkenny - great for an afternoon pint or some food - and if the weather is good both can be had out the back in a great beer garden (complete with double decker bus out of which food is served). It also has a fantastic atmosphere at night.

I stayed there as well and the rooms are lovely, very clean (as are the bathrooms), with very comfortable beds for a good night's kip. Also, the fry the next morning is almost worth the cost alone!

A weekend in Kilkenny when the hurling team are playing - or the next time Bruce comes to town (we got both at once the past summer and it was fantastic) - is a must because the place is electric but, nonetheless, I'd recommend a stay even on the quietest of times as the place has real soul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland_dB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

this was our third stay here in 2013, and it was just as good as the last 2, Byrnes is ideal if you want a nice friendly place to stay, its also away from the noise of the City Centre, and a short walk from the Railway Station, the owner Hannah is a lady, she always finds time for a chat, and the staff are just as friendly, the breakfast is amazing, cooked to order, and pleanty of it, for my wife and i, its the only place we would stay in Kilkenny, and may i add they have only recently refurbished the bedrooms, and well done under the current climite, its not easy to do this, we look forward to going back to Billy Byrnes again,, keep up the good work,, and thank you for another enjoyable stay,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

stayed one night for Bruce Springsteen concert..great welcome upon arriving from Hannah the landlady! downstairs you have the irish pub that you only hear about, what an atmlosphere!!! upstairs you have immaculate ensuite bedrooms, and a breakfast that will set you up for the day!!!! every staff member smiles and says "no problem" to everything!! right in the centre of kilkenny ! great stay \and will def def be back !!!

Room Tip: dont be put off by the music downstairs it stops after 1 and you can hear a pin drop!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vera d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We made a spontaneous visit to Kilkenny on a recent trip to Ireland and hadn't booked anything in advance. We found this place very close to the railway station. It's a family run pub. The bar man was very friendly and had no problem booking us in for two nights at short notice. The pub itself is very atmospheric and very well decorated. The rooms were very clean and our double room was ensuite. After a late night in the pub, we did get up a little late and was worried we'd missed breakfast. But we were still treated to a hearty full Irish breakfast by the landlady, Hannie. I have no doubt we will be back again. Kilkenny is definitely on our list of places to visit the next time we go. And Byrnes will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights this weekend. A sound night's sleep was followed by a hearty and well-cooked breakfast which really set us up for the day. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great too., close to centre, castle shops etc, as well as transport.
If you are visiting Kilkenny, i would highly recommend staying at Byrne's - i know we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hesketh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This March we stayed for three nights in this wonderful guest house on our trip to Ireland with my parents and brother. It's very nice house with very friendly staff. The rooms were very clean. Our room was ensuite too. They managed to give us a room for the whole family at a very good price.

The location was great for the city centre and there are lots of other bars on the same street. The landlady was very helpful, and told us some of the history of town and advised us on places to visit.

Also the food was tasty and the portions were very big too.

We fell in love with the town of Kilkenny and people and we will definitely be back again some time to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrinaP472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club House Hotel
Club House Hotel
#16 of 19 in Kilkenny
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#42 of 72 in Kilkenny
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
McCourts Townhouse
McCourts Townhouse
#69 of 72 in Kilkenny
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse

Property: William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
Address: 39 John Street Upper, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing