We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rivista

La Rivista
Ranked #15 of 217 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Beautiful place with big tables and a cozy atmosphere. Was very surprised to see it busy on a Tuesday but even so the staff were so attentive and we were not left waiting! The early bird menu was €25 for 3 course meal and the food is divine! Portions are big and was absolutely beautiful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiNiR93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    106
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty and great value”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Attended this restaurant with a large party and the staff handled the numbers really well and were very helpful and friendly. The pizza I ordered was absolutely delicious with a thin and crispy base and just as tasty as pizzas I've eaten in Italy! Would definitely return to this restaurant if in Kilkenny again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lols80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Just ok!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Have eaten here before with hubby and was not a great experience. Ate here again recently with a large group. Our table was 30 mins late which we didn't mind too much. The service was great but the food was only average. Starter salad was about 3 bites and the crispy duck main course although tasty was not crispy. Great value for money though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawnywawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Fare”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My partner and I nipped in here at 6.30pm on a Friday evening before an 8pm show in the nearby Watergate Theatre. The staff were excellent, friendly and very courteous. They prepared a table for us without delay, knowing we didn't have very long to eat. With optimism, we decided to go for the special 3-course meal for two incl. a bottle of wine for €59. This is a set menu but the choice was extensive. The food throughout was very tasty and we could tell it was made from the best of ingredients. The wine was also excellent for a set menu price. Overall, we would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant and will definitely return. It's now Sunday and we have commented on our brief visit to La Rivista on a number of occasions over the weekend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patch_Rick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let down last minute”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked our sisters hen night here after hearing lovely things about the restaurant. We reserved approximately two months in advance for a group of 25. We were dressing up as zombies as it was close to halloween. This was said to the restaurant during the first phone conversation. My sister was in contact with the restaurant several times confirming the details. Then, less than a week before the scheduled night, La Rivista cancelled on us out of nowhere The reason being our planned zombie theme. If it had not been for another local restaurant, Lautrecs that kindly accommodated us we would have been completely stuck with 25 people and nowhere to eat. Absolutely appalling way to treat customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rivista also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to La Rivista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing