We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome curry!!”

Royal Spice Indian Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 217 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $29
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Royal Spice Indian Restaurant is a new Indian restaurant located on 2 Water gate, Kilkenny. We offer our customers an evening of authentic Indian cuisine in a stylish and contemporary setting. We cater for parties and welcome children and we have a take away menu. We also cater for vegetarians. The restaurant is located in Kilkenny City Centre.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome curry!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had heard great reports about this place,so headed to it on our 1st night in Kilkenny.We weren't dissapointed.I got the Bhuna and it was fab,packed full of flavour and a good portion served too.Staff very friendly and helpful.I'd definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolo7822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSpice, Manager at Royal Spice Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest!
Thank you for dining at Royal Spice and for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are very glad you've had such a good experience at Royal Spice and enjoyed our delicious Bhuna sauce.
We hope, next time when in Kilkenny, you decide to visit us again to enjoy some authentic Indian cuisine.

Best regards,
Syed Ahmed
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    110
    33
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tikka”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was right next door to the Pembroke hotel so we tried it out, it was very good but the service really needs a little boost. We had to ask for water refills and no one came to check on us a few minutes after the entrees were served to see if we needed anything else. It was not crowded so not sure if this is normal or just a bobble the night we were there. But the food is excellent and would go there again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank netmomtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSpice, Manager at Royal Spice Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest!
Firstly thank you very much for choosing Royal Spice and for taking time to review our restaurant.

We are glad you had an overall good evening whilst dining at Royal Spice. As we are determined to keep the quality of our service at a high level at all times we really appreciate the helpful feedback from you. We will share your comments with our staff at our next staff meeting.

We hope you can visit us again at Royal Spice for an even more enjoyable experience of Indian cuisine.

Best Regards,
Syed Ahmed
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wide selection of indian food and they went out of their way to accomodate our two youngsters as well

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan_Howie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSpice, Manager at Royal Spice Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest!
Thank you for dining at Royal Spice and for taking the time to leave a review for our restaurant. We are very glad that you enjoyed your evening and our service and food contributed to an enjoyable stay in Kilkenny.

Best regards,
Syed Ahmed
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
449 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Great Food and Customer Attitude.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

In terms of looking after the customer and attitude...this has to be one of the best i have come across. Staff were friendly, attentive, relaxed but not over intrusive. Switching tables to a cooler area was no fuss and seamless service from one staff member to another.
Food was really good with great presentaion/tableware and timing was spot on and prompt. I normally find Asian can be overfilling due to rice...so shared a starter, shared a really nice rice (done with spices) and Nan-Bread so as to fully enjoy the Pasanda.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loo99car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSpice, Manager at Royal Spice Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your visit to Royal Spice and for taking time in reviewing our restaurant.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your evening at our Royal Spice.
We are looking forward to welcoming you to our restaurant in the future for even more authentic Indian dishes in excellent atmosphere.

Kind Regards,
Syed Ahmed
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not Bad”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wasnt bad. The sauces were very rich and probably very unhealthy. However it was very tasty.I would go back again but not too often.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoeDkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSpice, Manager at Royal Spice Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Royal Spice restaurant. We appreciate your feedback and even though you may have found the sauce too rich, we are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed the food & we hope that you will visit with us again soon.

Please feel free to ask our staff for lighter options as we do have a lovely range of fresh & healthy dishes available.


Kind Regards,
Syed Ahmed
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Spice Indian Restaurant also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Royal Spice Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing