We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent family campsite!”
Review of Nore Valley Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nore Valley Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just back from a few days at Nore Valley and we loved it. The kids had a fantastic time. There is a 12 o'clock curfew so there's no loud laughing or talking at crazy times. There is free as much as you want access to the view the animals. The staff are beyond helpful, friendly and courteous.

The crazy golf could do with with updating but other than that if you want the experience of life on a farm (cockrels and everything) please don't give this place a miss. It is an absolute top notch camp site and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days and enjoyed a memorable time at Nore Valley. If you enjoy real country living including all that goes along with that, then this is the place for you. Our 4 year old loved the playground and mixing with the other kids. It is situated in a location that was convenient for us to keep an eye on him which was a welcome addition. It was also a pleasure to meet with Martin the owner who clearly enjoys his job and making time for customers.

It can't be easy making a living in campsites with the last few years of bad summers, but it would be lovely to see some money reinvested in the facilities to give them an update if there's some spare cash left at the end of the year.

Martin is a true gent and helped us out with a problem with our car and saved us from what could have been a disastrous end to our holiday.

Yes, the cockerals start up before sunrise, but they stopped soon enough and then the other wildlife in the countryside began their day. This is how it works in the country... Bring earplugs if you want to miss this experience with a lie in.

Room Tip: Take a walk by the river in the late evening, just magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dyflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here in our caravan for four days and kids loved it and even wanted to stay longer. 3 children ages 6, 8, and 12. We had a lovely quiet spot as it was not very busy. Yes I did hear the roosters the first morning but it comes with the territory as it is a farm. There was plenty for the kids to do even though you were handing out money all the time for crazy golf etc, had to limit kids as it would cost you a small fortune everyday. I was surprised that the 12 yr old enjoyed it but he gave it thumbs up. They loved the feeding animal times and getting to hold rabbits lamb etc. They were disappointed with the playground(12 yr commented that it was probably made out of all the recycling they do) They really need to give it a good makeover, toilets/showers etc and also have more regular checkups of the toilets as anytime I went in they was always paper/toilet paper on the floor and also clean the hair out of the showers, even the 12 yr noticed this( he's a boy!) overall kids loved it and want to go back, so at the end of the day its what keeps them happy, then mammy and daddy happy. Oh lovely fresh scones bread eggs every morning is nice. Kids liked the pizza too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a lovely little place and really great for little kids. We just went for the day and didn’t camp so I can’t comment on the camping although the facilities look really good. Its very family friendly, especially for small kids and they do a great price if you plan to go a few times over a week. My kids loved the animals and the play areas. All the animals look very happy and well looked after. It’s a safe environment with plenty to do whether you are camping or just going for the day. Would recommend and will be back.

Room Tip: for an extra £1 each on the price you can come back all week for free. Buy extra food for the animal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

OMG I thought the alarm call on my phone was horrendous until I got a rude awakening in this camping park. It started in the early hours of the morning and it was like there was a choir of cockerels competing with each other. Def not suitable for small children who won't go back to sleep or even for anyone looking for a relaxing time away. As for the fishing when we got there we were told it was completely booked for each evening and afternoon to the same people which I think is very unfair it should be one slot sold to each guest to make it fair to everyone. The Go Karts are peddal ones and are only suited to small kids. The crazy golf needs to be cleaned up and def not worth the charge of €3.00 per person when it was full of stones and dirt....not to mention the carpets turned up. Having said all that the facilities were great....free showers which were clean and good kitchen area for washing up and even cooking if you need to. Saw a laundry room and a TV room but didn't use either. Fridges and freezers were available to store your food which was great especially in this hot weather. Overall I would not go back because of the early morning wake up calls and the fishing not available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoreValleyPark, Owner at Nore Valley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Ordinarily fishing is available to everyone on a first come first served basis, and you can book what ever four hour slot you want. We only have permission to allow two people to fish at once and it can book up fast.

The Roosters can be noisy so we do try to keep them as far away from campers as possible. We would get rid of them but unfortunately without them we wouldn't have the baby chicks that people like to see or the eggs hatching in the incubator.

The golf is in bad condition this year and will be getting a complete refit this winter when we close.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just back from spending a weekend here, and to be honest I need a holiday after it. we were a party of 5 tents and had small children with us. The little farm is lovely I wil say and all the animals, however, the pitch and putt €3 each and go down to find the course in an absolute state, stones and dirt all over the carpet, the carpet ripped up and the ball even gets stuck in the little tunnels because of the dirt in there. Dont know how they have the nerve to charge for something in that state.. Also there is a double slide and swings at the "playground" which are only suitable for older children as the steps to slide is a ladder style effect so is way to dangerous for small kids to climb. None of the swings have a baby/toddler seat either so this also must have been overlooked. and the worst thing of all is the horrendeous noise every morning starting at 3.30am !! of Cockerals all over the place. Cock a doodle doo all over the place, had everyone awake at this hour - kids included. I actually spoke to people who told me part of their party actually left with a baby at 4 in the morning because of this - there is no need to have this bloody noise waking people at that hour of the morning. Especially when there is a very strict curfew on guests to be in bed at 12 midnight ??? So dont plan to sit outside your tent for a chat after this ( you will be told to go to bed ) Would not even consider returning to Nore Valley.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dupe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were a group of 5 families . this campsite is perfect for anyone who does want to enjoy themselves or.Want there children to have fun . at every turn they exploited you for money A creepy man walked the campsite every 10 mins . He gave out to children for laughing too loud . He actually frightened 2 children in our group . He was very rude when we explained they were only children . We were not allowed to stay out side our tents after 12 o clock . It was ridiculous . We had meet other families with same experience . Who left early and would not come back as neither would we and would not recommend it too anyone .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Dollardsharon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
9.9 mi away
Moonarch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
65 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
7.4 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nore Valley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nore Valley Park

Address: | Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny R95 RXR4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award Winning family run site is located in a quiet, peaceful valley and is personally supervised at all times. A high standard of cleanliness is a priority throughout the site and amenities with no noise or socialising after midnight. Free showers and hot water. Situated on an open farm. Patrons have free access to the farm and children are encouraged to assist in animal feeding. River walk through farm and woodland, children’s play area, sandpit with diggers and chess all free. Also at extra charge poolroom, crazy golf, pedal go-karts, trailer rides and 3D indoor maze. Within 10 km swimming, fishing, canoeing, golf, craft shops, horse riding and many historical sites. You can enjoy home baked bread, scones, tarts, pizza and quiches daily or start the day with a continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing