We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay.”
Review of Castle Lodge B&B

Castle Lodge B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge B&B
Ranked #56 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have visited Kilkenny on 3 occasions staying at the Castle Lodge each time. Love staying here. Already planning another trip and definitely will be staying again! Lovely friendly atmosphere. Rooms are warm, comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are spacious and very clean. The hosts are incredibly attentive. Couldn't meet nicer people! Great choices for breakfast. All in all great value. So looking forward to next stay. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The title says it all. Wonderful host and delicious breakfast but I didn't sleep a wink. Mattress was old and lumpy and could do with being replaced. All in all the host was lovely and very welcoming and gave me some good tips for things to do in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onefineday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice b +b. hosts couldn't been nicer. The only thing was the breakfast was small but overall nicest b n b in Ireland hygiene 10/10. When u arrive the couldn't welcome you more because they show you to your room and offer you tea and coffe. They are very good hosts and I would really recommend anyone with a family to vist this b+b because it will suit their needs very well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

While traveling to Ireland in 2011, my family and I had a mix up with our travel arrangements, and just ended up stumbling across the Castle Lodge. Even with us just dropping in, the proprietor Liam had no trouble putting us up for the night, and was gracious enough to allow us the use of his phone to call our travel agents and put back together the rest of our trip. As for value and rooms... Is not that the price was outstanding, or the rooms disappointing but I wouldn't call it a great value for the money either. They were quite clean, but were plain and cramped, although I was very pleased to find that the bathroom was enormous. Set back just enough from the road and with a very well appreciated rule on silence after hours, I slept like a babe in arms. Also a perfect location, just a short ride or walk to Kilkenny Castle and the city centre. Breakfast was quick and well prepared, with four choices for an entree, and some nice accoutrements for a
little variety. All in all nothing sterling about the rooms, but the location and hosts outstanding hospitality and helpfulness make this a win in my book.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently stayed here with a group of friends for a night. The beds were so uncomfortable, they must be years old, really lumpy and my pillow was as flat as a pancake. There were three beds, and three girls in our room. There were only 3 bathtowels. No towels for washing your hair. I feel that that's something basic, It was a huge pain to have to go downstairs and ask for more towels when you're just about to hop in the shower. The bulb in the lamp beside my bed didn't work and the light in the room was really bad, when I was trying to put my make up on ! The outer bed covers had seen better days and had stains on them. The carpet in the entrance hallway and landing were really dirty and badly stained, lots of scuffs on the walls in the landing. This place needs to be repainted and recarpeted. When we complained about the lumpy beds the next day the owner thought it was funny. I suppose with the amount of tourist traffic in Kilkenny the owners feel that there isnt much need to work hard for the business which is a pity. I also barely got a parking space as there were lots of other people staying here. I Definitely wouldnt stay here again. I recommend you go somewhere else !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We planned a two week vacation to Ireland starting March 11th. We did not have plans for lodging before we came as we wanted to wing it and not have restrictions. Upon going through Kilkenny, we discovered this B&B. It was mid evening, and we thought the B&B stuck out very nicely due to the nicely paved, no fee, parking lot. It was lit and the building was nicely painted along with a wall around the parking lot. We got to the B&B around 5:30 and were greeted after ringing the door bell by Liam. He was very friendly and informed us of everything including places to go to for the evening before he saw us off for the night. The room was ok...nothing outstanding...little smell, and some cobwebs in the cieling...but the rest seemed ok. Decent sized room for paying 65.50 euro (32.50 per person). We woke up in the morning for a very good breakfast...continental breakfast with 4 different options to choose from for a main course as well. We did not know the area well so we stayed for a second night just due to the fact we didnt want to get into anything worse....Free Wifi too. Liam was very helpful to us with taking the time to ensure we had a good stay as well as giving us good insight on where to go for food and pubs and sights to see while there....All in all...only complaint would be the weird smell in the room we had on the first floor, and maybe the not so very cleanliness..if coming into the area for a night or two...definitely a good spot with close walking distance to downtown...anything more than that....you may want to find other accomodations.

From: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbarr138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Lovely B&B & great location. It was perfect as it was in walking distance of the city. The room was clean & comfortable with great showers. Stayed here for 2 nights over the May bank holiday weekend with friends. Great selection for breakfast. Liam, the host was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend Kilkenny as a good place to visit - plenty of things to do, lovely restaurants and some great pubs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 73 in Kilkenny
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Launard House
Launard House
#57 of 73 in Kilkenny
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#15 of 73 in Kilkenny
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#10 of 73 in Kilkenny
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#42 of 73 in Kilkenny
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge B&B

Property: Castle Lodge B&B
Address: Castle Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Castle Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing