We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic night!”

The Grapevine Wine & Tapas Bar
Ranked #28 of 219 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Grapevine Tapas Bar is Kilkenny's favourite casual dining venue.Great food, music and service.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic night!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited Grapevine recently, Saturday 28th of September, and it was an amazing experience. I would recommend it to everyone.A small group of us got a table at the front. We got quite a small table with the couches, although, surprisingly there was enough space for our drinks and food. Crostini are to die for, even for the price and it's clear there was a lot of effort put in preparing them. Paella, Chorizo and Meatballs are a fantastic treat. And the size of the deserts! Place should be very proud of their brownie and cheesecake.
Staff was very helpful with the menu, carrying, fast and what's more important very friendly and smiling. We didn't have to wait long for food, and altogether the service was very smooth. It was a busy night but the atmosphere of the place and good music carried all of our worries away.
Fantastic night! I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    86
    30
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very different eating experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Would definitely recommend this. Food not the cheapest in town but very tasty and great atmosphere. Prosecco is very good and would recommend the chorizo/potato dish. Service was slow and staff distracted, although makes for a more authentic experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mexic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff are letting the place down”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The place and food are fab, but yet again served up food and no cutlery. The waitress couldnt understand us and it was very hard to give in the order.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anitacor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming non -pub atmosphere”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Refreshingly different! Great wines and tapas. The music was great. We appeared shortly before closing time but still got cheerful and friendly service. Wish we had found it sooner.unfortunately we were leaving the next day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catfishmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a lovely meal here one Sunday late in August. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The food was amazing & it was really great value. An excellent meal for 2 including wine for €50

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dubs_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grapevine Wine & Tapas Bar also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to The Grapevine Wine & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing