We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Heaven”
Review of Campagne

Campagne
Ranked #4 of 219 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kinvara
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food Heaven”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Booked a meal as part of weekend trip to Kilkenny...recommended by a friend. I think it was one of the best food experiences we ever had. From choice on menu throgh to presentation and taste sublime. Produce and delivery couldnt be better and this was just pre Michelin star...well deserved. Wine list excellent...Will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KinvaraFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    117
    48
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well Justified”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was suprised when Campagne got a Michelin Star because it never tried, in my view, to be pretentious or "Cheffy". It just produced fantastic flavours and quality at really reasonable prices....€30 and under for Early Birds...That's not Michelin expectations. Also I've been to a few Michelin places elsewhere, and you get the sense of having to dress up...and take the "Still or Sparkling " option, feeling intimidated not to ask for tap water....and paying too much for that privilage!!!!!
Campagne's award made me cheer that morning,,,,recognition for a really superb restaurant and a really superb chef.....and front of house staff, professional yet personable....serving without being servile.
Only problem is getting a reservation now that the secret's out.I love going there.
One further point is the Wine List....Their wines are all excellent and I really encourage you to try the House choices...so inexpensive relative to other fine restaurants...in the €25 to €35 price range.
Well done Garret & Co.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One Michelin Star but no snobbery”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everything is wonderful about this restaurant; the welcome on arrival, the very stylish and comfortable room, the professional service, the tempting and seasonal menu, but most of all the food. Everything is local, which makes it sing with flavour and freshness. The chef and his team bring out the best in this produce in a stylish and assured way. Everything tastes wonderful but there isn't too much complication but having too many flavours fighting on the plate. I think that's why it was one if my very best dining experiences in this country. Also, the value is amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubliner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant, Congratulations on Michelin Star”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Following a last minute enquiry, we received a reservation following a cancellation, and boy were we happy we visited this restaurant. When we read that it had recently won a michelin star, we expected a very formal experience, but what we got was an extremely professional experience without any unwanted pomp.
Staff are friendly but not over-friendly, and the food is understated rather than overstated, which allows you to be satisfied beyond your expectations.
Michelin star or no michelin star, this restaurant is top notch!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paddytrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“"A Visual Feast "”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Dropped into Campagne last week for lunch, Nice place, Attentive service, ordered the pumpkin Ravioli, very tasty, followed by the Pheasant very good but quite generous in size, one breast would of been enough ! I barely had room for desert but forced myself anyway, ordered the Opera gateau, slightly to chilled for my taste, but the flavor was morish, all in all a visual treat , you can see that the chef takes pride in his work, I recommend this restaurant - €29.95 for a 3 coarse Lunch. Well worth it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toxmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campagne also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Campagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing