We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”
Review of Campagne

Campagne
Ranked #4 of 223 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had dinner in Campagne recently. It was my first time here in a few years. What an experience! We were shown to the table by attentive, professional but most of all, friendly, smiling staff. In retailing of any kind, this initial engagement with the establishment is so critical in shaping the experience. This was exquisite food served by top class, naturally warm professionals!
On to the food:
The á la carte menu had 6 choices for both starter and mains, and also had a special of the day.
The Pork Plate for starter was amazing - a plateful of different tastes, textures and explosions of flavour. Included were crisp head, rillette, white pudding and iberico ham. In some ways, it was reminiscent of an incredibly brilliant tapas plate concentrating on the pig! This was the best starter I had in a long time. My partner has scallops, which also were superb.
For mains, I had the fish special - fillets of meaty red mullet, served with mediterranean style veg.........fennel, olives etc. This was a classic - really fresh ingredients simply but masterfully cooked. My partner had pork loin which again was fab.
Given the quality offered here, it is excellent value for money. Including a bottle of a very nice 2011 Rueda, the overall spend is comparable to some other restaurants in the area that don not come near Campagne in terms of quality of food, cooking and overall experience.
Campagne is the best I have been to in a long time and I plan to return soon. It is very definetly worth the trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dromadamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    117
    48
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and i visited this restaurant last night for dinner. Each time i go there i find the food absolutely amazing from the presentation to the flavours. I had a cheese souffle to start which was beautifully light, had slow roasted beef for mains. this reminded me of a very good spanish pulled pork, really beautiful and like jelly. No room for dessert but had for a lovely tia maria coffee, nice chilled cream on top and a hot tia maria beneath. always a very worthwhile experience which makes the journey from carlow a pleasure.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 232paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A superb experience!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visited this restaurant for Sunday lunch and was blown away. From the friendly and attentive service, the charming modern décor, not to mention the superb food - it was all without fault. A wonderful experience which I look forward to repeating on my next visit to Kilkenny. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dan193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great restaurant - a little uppidity”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Food was flawless - excellent, interior was also excellent, although lacking ambiance, the staff were courteous, however a little cold and and a little warmth would have gone a long way to make this a superb experience, however it just missed the mark, by being a little too clinical and slightly cold.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place is really worth seeking out. The food is excellent in every respect, beautifully presented by well trained and efficient staff and the wine list is good and well priced (by Irish standards) . The atmosphere is relaxed with tasteful decor and, while tables are formally dressed as you'd expect, the whole place has a nice, intimate atmosphere with plenty of space between tables. Emphasis is on all the right things. Toilets are impeccable.

This restaurant is well above the usual "very good" rating or even the often easily awarded "excellent". The food is not far off Galway's Aniar or Dublin's Lock's, recent recipients of a Michelin star and the dining room more spacious and seating more comfortable. It is a close call between these 3 establishments - and that's a compliment to all three.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capam1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campagne also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Campagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing