We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as a hostel should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
“Just as a hostel should be”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

MacGahbainns is a really nice and welcomming place. The hostel is located quite close to the citiy centre and just a small stroll from everything. Still, it is far away from the business to have a nice and sound sleep. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The place is neat and clean, however, we're talking about a house 110 years old, so there's some little sign of that age here and there. There's free WiFi, a warm TV room, a great kitchen and a litle craic is always round the corner. Good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerFrieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    44
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
4
16
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Hostel is nice and clean and well equipped. Decent kitchen, free tea/coffee and breakfast, social area with TV and computer, free WiFi, good clean bathrooms, comfortable beds. The staff were a little disorganised but very friendly and helpful when needed. Location is great. Very close to High Street and all things to do in Kilkenny. Parking is a bit odd as it is on street and only free if you are in a rental vehicle I believe. This was a source of confusion and needed clarification. Overall stay was good and we left happy and well slept!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This was the first hostel my girlfriend and I stayed in while in Ireland for 10 days. The guy running this place was very nice and helpful. Clean, affordable and safe. Great kitchen area and it's in a great location. I would go back again for sure and recommend to any type of traveler, especially solo traveler.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

MacGabhainns hostel was value for money. Got a room with one bunk bed and one double bed. Double bed was comfy, but the bunk bed wasn't - it was making lots of noise too! Springs were squeaking when turning. One of us couldn't sleep at night because of that.

The room was clean and very warm, so cannot complain really, this is what we wanted: a place to stay in a central location. On the other hand the bath was very old and looked like either not cleaned or just dirty cause it's old.

The hostel doesn't have its own parking. have to park on the street.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms near the bathrooms can be noisy, as people would be going in and out of them throughout th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosy898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel was really convenient located and easily accessible. Got a Twin Room was adequate, clean and comfy. Enjoyed the common kitchen so we managed to cooked up something hearty. Staffs was really nice, pleasant and helpful to be around. Thanks for having us! Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had a great stay in the hostel! The bed my 4-bed-dorm was soooo comfy and all the rooms were really warm and cozy. The kitchen was well equipped and you could even wash and dry ALL of your clothes for 7€ only. The staff was fun to hang around with and the manager is a really nice man. Apart from that there were lots of young people with different nationalities staying in the hostel, so you meet lads from all over the world! MacGabhainns is also well-located - not even a 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franzi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We are a family of six and stayed in a six person mixed room with a bathroom. Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is well run and very clean. Fergus was wonderful. He gave us a complete tour, put an extra heater in the room to warm it up and started a fire in the common room at night so we could play games and enjoy some extra warmth.
Parking could be a problem. Our spot for free parking was on the street in front of another hotel that they had a "deal" with. At busy times this could be a problem.
Location looked bleak but was within easy walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisconsintenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Property: MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny 0, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing